Serving those who serve South Carolina

State Employee Adoption Assistance Program

Financial assistance is provided to eligible state employees to help pay some of the expenses with adopting a child. Assistance is limited to the amount of funds authorized each year for the program.

 

Eligible employees include permanent or probationary, full-time or part-time employees of any department, institution, board, commission, council, division, bureau, center, school, hospital or other agency of the State of South Carolina, including temporary grant and time-limited employees. Law enforcement officers and employees of special purpose districts are also eligible. Employees must participate in PEBA insurance benefits and be employed when the adoption is submitted, when the adoption is finalized and when benefit is paid.

 

Adoptions eligible for assistance

Assistance is available for a child younger than age 18 who is adopted. Assistance is not available for the adoption of a stepchild.

 

Assistance amount

The maximum amount for adopting a non-special needs child is $5,000, and the maximum amount for a special needs child* is $10,000. The maximum amount is based on eligible expenses directly relating to the adoption of the child and the amount authorized for the program.

 

*A special needs child is one who is age 6 or older or who has a physical, mental or emotional disability.

 

How benefits are paid

Funds are paid directly to the employee after he provides proof of the eligible costs directly related to the adoption. The amount cannot be determined until the application period ends (September) and the application review process is completed (October). Therefore, adoption benefits are awarded in November.

 

Eligible expenses

  • Licensed adoption agency fees
  • Legal fees (attorney’s fees and costs of legal proceedings)
  • The fee for obtaining investigations and reports as required by S.C. Code Ann. 20-7-1740 (1976)
  • The fee of the individuals required to take the consent or relinquishment, as required by S.C. Code Ann. 20-7-1705 (A) (1976)
  • The fee of a guardian ad litem appointed pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. 20-7-1732
  • Reasonable fees to sending agencies as defined in S.C. Code Ann. 20-7-1980 (2) (b) (1976), the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children
  • Costs, at the rate allowed for state employees traveling on official business. This includes transportation, lodging and food for both the adoptive child and the adoptive parents when necessary to complete the placement or adoption process, including obtaining physical custody of the adoptive child
  • Medical costs, not paid by insurance, Medicaid or other such available resources, of the biological mother relating to the birth of the adopted child
  • Medical costs, not paid by insurance, Medicaid or other such available resources, of the child relating to the birth.

 

How to apply

The application period is July through September each year for eligible employees who finalized an adoption the previous fiscal year (July 1 through June 30). Once the adoption is finalized through a court system, eligible employees should contact PEBA to request an application. An application must be received by PEBA no later than 5 p.m. on the last business day in September.

 

More information

The State Employee Adoption Assistance Program is administered by PEBA. For more information, contact PEBA's Insurance Financial Services department at 803.734.1696.

 

202 Arbor Lake Drive

Columbia, SC 29223

803.737.6800 | 888.260.9430

Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Links

Connect with us

State of South Carolina

S.C. Code of Laws

© 2016 South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority

Data classification: public information