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General information 
The South Carolina Retirement System (SCRS) is a 
defined benefit retirement plan administered by the 
South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority 
(PEBA) for employees of state agencies, public and 
charter school districts, public higher education 
institutions, and other local subdivisions of 
government that have joined SCRS, as well as 
individuals first elected to the South Carolina 
General Assembly at or after the general election in 
November 2012. This handbook provides a general 
introduction to SCRS and the benefits that are part 
of the plan. 

If you chose participation in the State Optional 
Retirement Program (State ORP) defined 
contribution plan in lieu of SCRS membership, 
contact your State ORP service provider for benefits 
information. If you have not yet made your 
decision, please refer to the Select Your Retirement 
Plan guide and the It’s Your Choice: SCRS Plan or 
State ORP video. 

Membership 
Membership is mandatory as a condition of your 
employment with a covered employer unless you 
are in a position or classification of employment 
specifically exempted from membership by statute. 
Other classifications, such as non-permanent 
employees, have the option to elect non-
membership within 30 days from their date of hire. 
Your employer should let you know if your 
employment falls into one of these categories. 
Newly hired employees of state agencies, public 
school districts, and higher education institutions 
may choose participation in the State ORP instead 
of SCRS within 30 days of their date of hire. If you 
have not yet made your decision, please refer to the 
Select Your Retirement Plan guide and the It’s Your 

                                                            
1Class One membership is no longer applicable. 

Choice: SCRS Plan or State ORP video for more 
information about and a comparison of the plans. 

Your SCRS membership starts when you earn 
compensation from a covered employer and make 
contributions to your SCRS retirement account. You 
are considered an active member if you are working 
for an SCRS-covered employer, earning service 
credit, and making regular contributions to an SCRS 
retirement account, and you have not retired or 
terminated from covered employment. You must be 
an active member to be eligible for most of the 
benefits described in this handbook.  

Class Two and Class Three 
membership 
Currently, there are two classes of membership: 
Class Two and Class Three.1 Class Two members are 
generally employees who currently have earned 
service credit in SCRS or a correlated retirement 
system for a period of service prior to July 1, 2012. 

Class Three members are those members who do 
not currently have earned service in SCRS or a 
correlated retirement system for a period of service 
prior to July 1, 2012. A period of withdrawn service 
or a period of participation in the State ORP does 
not count toward the earned service credit used to 
determine whether a member is Class Two or Class 
Three unless the member has completed a service 
purchase to establish earned service credit in SCRS 
for the period of withdrawn service or State ORP 
participation.  

Employee contribution rate 
Effective July 1, 2017, members of SCRS contribute 
9.0 percent of their gross pay, tax-deferred, into 
their SCRS retirement accounts. Employer 
contribution rates to the system are set by the PEBA 
Board each year based upon the results of the 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/assets/selectyourretirementplanguide.pdf
http://www.peba.sc.gov/assets/selectyourretirementplanguide.pdf
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgUs9y-Kx4M
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgUs9y-Kx4M
http://www.peba.sc.gov/assets/selectyourretirementplanguide.pdf
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgUs9y-Kx4M
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgUs9y-Kx4M
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annual actuarial valuation of the system and 
statutory requirements.   

Member compensation limit 
The Internal Revenue Service imposes a federal 
compensation limit under the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC), Section 401(a) (17). This limit, also 
referred to as a cap, is placed on the amount of 
annual compensation which may be taken into 
account for purposes of calculating pension 
contributions. Employees who became members of 
SCRS or PORS, or participants in State ORP prior to 
January 1, 1996, are not subject to the annual 
compensation limit. Employees who became 
members or participants in the plans on and after 
January 1, 1996, are subject to the compensation 
limit as adjusted by the commissioner of the IRS for 
increases in the cost of living in accordance with 
Section 401(a)(17) of the IRC. The calendar year 
2017 compensation limit (cap) is $270,000. 
Compensation in excess of this limitation is not 
subject to retirement contributions. 

Interest on your SCRS account 
Your SCRS account earns 4 percent interest 
compounded annually on your balance as of the 
previous June 30 until you retire or your account 
becomes inactive. An account is considered inactive 
when no contributions have been made to the 
account in the preceding fiscal year and no other 
active, correlated system or State ORP account 
exists. 

Correlated systems 
PEBA administers several other defined benefit 
retirement systems for public employees and 
officials. Two of these other systems, the Police 
Officers Retirement System (PORS) and the General 
Assembly Retirement System (GARS), are correlated 
systems with SCRS. If you have contributions in 
more than one of these correlated retirement 
systems, your service credit is maintained 

separately within each system; however, your 
service credit is added together to determine your 
eligibility for a retirement benefit. Although this 
service is combined for eligibility purposes, the 
amount of your benefit from each system will still 
be calculated based only upon your service credit in 
that system.  

For example, if you are an SCRS member with 10 
years of service credit and were previously a 
member of PORS with 15 years of service, you 
would be considered to have 25 years of service 
credit for the purposes of determining your 
eligibility for a retirement benefit. 

Designating beneficiaries 
for your account 
The benefits administered by PEBA also offer 
options for you to help provide for your survivors in 
the event of your death. As an active member, you 
have the option to designate three types of 
beneficiaries for your account: 

• Primary beneficiaries for your in-service 
death benefit (see Page 9) or refund of 
contributions (see Page 16). Multiple 
beneficiaries would share equally in a 
survivor monthly benefit; 

• Contingent beneficiaries in case of death of 
the primary beneficiaries. All primary 
beneficiaries must be deceased before any 
contingent beneficiaries will be paid; and 

• Incidental death benefit beneficiaries (see 
Page 6). 

You may name your estate as a beneficiary for your 
account; however, monthly benefit payments 
cannot be paid to an estate. As an active member, 
you may change your beneficiaries at any time 
before retirement. 
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Online access to your 
SCRS account 
Member Access is the online resource that allows 
you, as a member of SCRS, to view and update your 
personal information on file with PEBA. It's safe, 
secure and available anytime from anywhere you 
have Internet access. 

Active members may: 
• View their designated beneficiary 

information; 
• View their current service credit; 
• View and print their member statement;  
• Change their address; 
• Calculate an unofficial cost estimate to 

purchase service credit; 
• Submit a service purchase request; and 
• Submit and view the status of their service 

retirement application.  

Retired members may: 
• Change their tax withholdings and their 

address;  
• View and print a 1099-R form; 
• View and print a Teacher and Employee 

Retention Incentive (TERI) program 
statement; 

• View and print a monthly benefit 
verification letter;  

• View their current payment method;  
• Change their payment method from paper 

check to direct deposit; and  
• Modify an existing direct deposit account or 

add an additional direct deposit account. 

Inactive members may: 
• View and print their member statement; 

and 
• Change their address. 

If you haven’t registered for Member Access, you 
can begin the process by selecting the Member 

Login bar in the center on the PEBA home page 
(www.peba.sc.gov). Once you are on the Member 
Access home page, select the Register Now  to start 
the process. 

Purchasing additional 
service credit 
Active members may establish additional service 
credit for various types of previous employment 
and leaves of absence, and up to five years of non-
qualified service, which is a type of service credit 
not associated with any specific employment. 
Generally, a member on leave without pay from a 
covered employer is not eligible to establish service 
credit of any type.  

You may establish service credit through a lump-
sum payment, a pre or post tax installment service 
purchase, or a tax-deferred rollover from an 
Individual Retirement Account (IRA), a 401(k) plan, 
a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) plan, or a 457 plan. 
The interest rate for an installment service purchase 
is calculated at the prime rate plus 2 percent. 
Installments initiated July 1, 2017, through June 30, 
2018, will be calculated at 6 percent. The interest 
rate is fixed for the term of the installment. 

You may establish each type of service credit once 
within a fiscal year. If you are establishing service to 
meet retirement eligibility, contact the Customer 
Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for 
more information. Payment for service purchases 
must be made in full prior to your retirement date 
or termination from employment. If you are 
terminated from covered employment within one 
year of retirement eligibility, you have five business 
days after the date of termination to purchase any 
service credit that you are otherwise eligible to 
purchase. If you previously established service 
credit for periods of part-time service or previously 
earned service credit for periods of part-time 
service prior to July 1996, you may be eligible to 

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
file://netapp/common/Head-admin/COMMUNICATIONS/Publications/SCRS/July%202016/www.peba.sc.gov
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
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establish additional service credit at an additional 
cost. Please contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for more 
information. 

One of the factors used to determine the cost of 
most types of service purchases is your career 
highest fiscal year earnable compensation. This 
includes any salary earned during a period of 
withdrawn service, regardless if the withdrawn 
service has been established through a service 
purchase. This also includes earnable compensation 
received while participating in the State Optional 
Retirement Program (State ORP) if you have 
purchased SCRS service credit for any State ORP 
participation. The cost to purchase periods of less 
than one year will be prorated. You may not 
establish SCRS service credit for a period of service, 
other than military service, for which you may also 
receive a retirement benefit from another defined 
benefit retirement plan or for a period of service for 
which you already have credit in SCRS. You also may 
not establish SCRS service credit if doing so would 
violate Section 415 or any other provision of the 
Internal Revenue Code. 

A Class Three member who purchases a period of 
withdrawn service or State ORP participation for 
any period of covered employment rendered prior 
to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 
membership. 

Some types of purchased service may not be used in 
determining eligibility for retiree health insurance. 
If you are covered by the state’s employee health 
insurance program, contact the Customer Contact 
Center at 803.737.6800 or toll free at 888.260.9430 
for eligibility information. If your employer does not 
participate in the state’s employee health insurance 
program, contact your employer for information 
about insurance in retirement.  

Descriptions of types of 
service 
Public service 
As an active member, you may establish SCRS 
service credit for any period of paid public service 
as an employee of the government of the United 
States, a state, or political subdivision of the United 
States, by making an actuarially neutral payment to 
PEBA. The cost calculation is based in part on your 
current age and service credit, as well as your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation at 
the time PEBA receives your service purchase 
request. The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 
independent actuary, will not be less than 16 
percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation for each year purchased.  

Educational service (K-12) 
As an active member, you may establish service 
credit for any period of paid classroom teaching 
consisting of grades kindergarten through 12 in a 
public, private, or sectarian school by making an 
actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The cost 
calculation is based in part on your current age and 
service credit, as well as your career highest fiscal 
year earnable compensation at the time PEBA 
receives your service purchase request. The cost, 
which is determined by PEBA’s independent 
actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
for each year purchased.  

Military service 
As an active member, you may establish up to six 
years of service credit for any period of military 
service for which you do not already have service 
credit in SCRS, PORS, or GARS by making an 
actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. This includes 
service in the United States Army, Navy, Marine 
Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, Select Reserves, and 
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the Army or Air National Guard. The cost calculation 
is based in part on your current age and service 
credit, as well as your career highest fiscal year 
earnable compensation at the time PEBA receives 
your service purchase request. The cost, which is 
determined by PEBA’s independent actuary, will not 
be less than 16 percent of your career highest 
earnable compensation for each year purchased. 

Your discharge from service must be under 
conditions other than dishonorable. Under 
guidelines set forth by the Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act 
(USERRA), you may also arrange in advance with 
your employer to continue contributing to your 
account while on active duty military leave or make 
the contributions after returning from military leave 
within a period three times longer than your 
military leave, but not more than five years. 

Leave of absence 
If you return to covered employment as an active 
member within four years of an employer-approved 
leave of absence, you may purchase service credit 
for the employer-approved leave period for which 
you do not already have service credit, up to a 
maximum of two years per leave of absence. The 
leave of absence must be with an employer covered 
by one of the retirement systems administered by 
PEBA. You may establish this service by making an 
actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The cost 
calculation is based in part on your current age and 
service credit, as well as your career highest fiscal 
year earnable compensation at the time PEBA 
receives your service purchase request. The cost, 
which is determined by PEBA’s independent 
actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
for each year purchased. 

Workers’ compensation 
As an active member, you may establish service 
credit for a period while on a leave of absence and 

receiving workers’ compensation benefits. The cost 
is based on contributions plus interest using your 
earnable compensation at the time of injury. You 
may also arrange in advance with your employer to 
continue contributing to your account while you are 
receiving workers’ compensation benefits. 

Previously withdrawn SCRS 
service 
If you left employment and received a refund of 
your contributions plus interest from SCRS, you may 
re-establish this service upon returning to active 
membership. You must repay the amount you 
withdrew plus interest to the date your request is 
received. Previously withdrawn earned service that 
is re-established in SCRS is considered earned 
service for the determination of the SCRS minimum 
service requirement for benefit eligibility. Please 
note that earnings associated with a re-established 
withdrawal will be considered for possible inclusion 
in the calculation of a member’s average final 
compensation. A Class Three member who 
purchases a period of withdrawn service for any 
period of covered employment rendered prior to 
July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two membership. 

Non-qualified service 
Active Class Two and Class Three members who 
have five or more years of earned service credit 
may establish up to five years of non-qualified 
service by making an actuarially neutral payment to 
PEBA. The cost calculation is based in part on your 
current age and service credit, as well as your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation at 
the time PEBA receives your service purchase 
request. The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 
independent actuary, will not be less than 35 
percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation for each year purchased. 
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State ORP service 
Active members may purchase service credit for 
their years of participation in the State ORP by 
making an actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The 
cost calculation is based in part on your current age 
and service credit, as well as your career highest 
fiscal year earnable compensation at the time PEBA 
receives your service purchase request. The cost, 
which is determined by PEBA’s independent 
actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 
career highest fiscal year compensation for each 
year purchased. State ORP participation that is 
established in SCRS is considered earned service for 
the determination of the SCRS minimum service 
requirement for benefit eligibility. Please note that 
earnings associated with established State ORP 
participation will be considered for possible 
inclusion in the calculation of a member’s average 
final compensation. A Class Three member who 
purchases a period of State ORP participation for 
any period of covered employment rendered prior 
to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 
membership. 

In-service death benefits 
Active member incidental 
death benefit 
If, as an active member, you die in service with at 
least one year of service credit and your employer 
provides incidental death benefit coverage, a 
payment equal to your current annual earnable 
compensation will be paid to your designated 
beneficiary. If your death results from a job-related 
injury, the one-year requirement is waived. 

Amounts paid to your designated beneficiary are 
subject to ordinary federal and state income taxes. 
It is up to your designated beneficiary to request 
that state taxes be withheld from the payment. 
PEBA is required to withhold federal taxes of 20 
percent on the incidental death benefit payment 

unless your designated beneficiary rolls over the 
money into another qualified retirement plan. A 
designated beneficiary who is a spouse may roll 
over the incidental death benefit payment into an 
individual retirement account (IRA), a 401(k) plan, a 
401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) plan, or a 457 plan. A 
non-spousal beneficiary may roll over the incidental 
death benefit payment into an inherited or 
beneficiary IRA only. 

Your designated beneficiary should check with an 
accountant or a tax advisor about his tax liability, or 
visit the IRS’s website at www.irs.gov and the 
website for the tax agency in the state in which he 
resides. In South Carolina, visit the South Carolina 
Department of Revenue’s website at 
https://dor.sc.gov/ 

State agencies, the General Assembly, and public 
school districts automatically provide incidental 
death benefit coverage to their employees; 
however, coverage is optional for other employers. 
If an employer elects to provide incidental death 
benefit coverage for its employees, the employer 
must pay the required contribution rate for the 
coverage. 

Retirement account 
benefits 
If you die in service as an active member, your 
designated beneficiary will be entitled to receive a 
refund of your employee contributions plus the 
interest earned on your account regardless of your 
age and years of service credit at the time of your 
death. 

Your designated beneficiary will be eligible to 
choose a monthly benefit instead of a refund of 
your employee contributions plus the interest 
earned on your account if:  

• You are a Class Two member with at least 
five years of earned service credit and 

http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
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either have at least 15 years of total service 
credit or you are at least 60 years of age at 
the time of your death; OR 

• You are a Class Three member with at least 
eight years of earned service credit and 
either have at least 15 years of total service 
credit or you are at least 60 years of age at 
the time of your death. 

Disability retirement 
benefit 
A member of SCRS may receive disability retirement 
benefits from SCRS only if the member has been 
approved for disability benefits from the federal 
Social Security Administration, which generally 
requires an incapacity to perform any gainful 
occupation. 

Who may apply 
Becoming disabled does not automatically qualify 
you for a disability retirement benefit; you must file 
an application and go through the review process. 
You must be in service with an employer covered by 
SCRS in order to file an application for disability 
retirement benefits. A member is considered to be 
in service on the date the application is received by 
PEBA if:  

1. the last day the member was employed by a 
covered employer was no more than 90 
days before the date PEBA received the 
application and  

2. the member had not been retired on a 
service retirement allowance for more than 
90 days at the time PEBA received the 
application.  

If PEBA does not receive your application while you 
are in service, you will not be eligible to receive any 
disability retirement benefits from SCRS. Retired 
members who work for a covered employer, 

including TERI participants, are not eligible to apply 
for a disability retirement benefit. 

In addition to being in service, you must also meet 
certain earned service requirements in order to 
apply for disability retirement benefits. If you are a 
Class Two member, you must have at least five 
years of earned service credit toward retirement 
unless your disability is the result of an injury arising 
out of and in the course of the performance of your 
job duties. If you are a Class Three member, you 
must have at least eight years of earned service 
credit toward retirement unless your disability is 
the result of an injury arising out of and in the 
course of the performance of your job duties. 

Coordination with other benefits  
You may arrange with your employer to make your 
retirement contributions through your employer if 
your disability requires you to be placed in an 
employer-approved leave status while receiving 
workers’ compensation benefits. Doing so will 
ensure that you continue to earn retirement service 
credit during your workers’ compensation leave 
period. Do not wait to apply for a disability benefit 
until your workers’ compensation claim is finalized. 
Many workers’ compensation claims are often 
settled after covered employment has ended. If 
your disability claim is denied, the continuance of 
paying retirement contributions and earning 
retirement service credit may be important to your 
long-term retirement plans. 

You must file your application while you are in 
service with a covered SCRS employer even if you 
have not yet been approved for Social Security 
disability benefits. Because of the length of time 
the Social Security disability application can take, do 
not wait to apply for SCRS disability retirement 
benefits until your Social Security disability claim 
has been approved.  
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How to apply 
You should file your application for disability 
retirement as soon as you become disabled and 
while you are still in service with an employer 
covered by SCRS. Either go to the PEBA website at 
www.peba.sc.gov or contact the Customer Contact 
Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to obtain a 
disability retirement packet. When you file your 
disability retirement claim, please complete all of 
the forms in the disability retirement packet. You do 
not, however, need to include any medical records 
from your health care providers. If your disability 
retirement application is received by PEBA more 
than 90 days after you terminate from all covered 
employment under SCRS or more than 90 days after 
the date of your service retirement, you will not be 
eligible to apply for a disability retirement benefit.  

The date your application is actually received by 
PEBA is the date used to determine whether the 
application was timely filed. You have to be 
approved for Social Security disability benefits in 
order to receive a disability retirement benefit from 
SCRS. 

Acknowledgement of receipt 
If you do not receive notification in the mail 
confirming PEBA’s receipt of your application within 
10 days after submitting it, please contact the 
Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 
888.260.9430. If you are eligible for service 
retirement when you become disabled, you may 
apply for a service retirement benefit and begin 
receiving a monthly benefit while awaiting 
determination of your disability claim. You will 
receive only one type of payment, so if your 
disability claim is approved, you will need to decide 
whether to continue to receive your service 
retirement benefit or to begin receiving a disability 
benefit. 

Processing the claim 

The evaluation of your disability claim depends on 
when you send your Social Security Award letter to 
PEBA. Once PEBA receives your Social Security 
Award letter, your claim for an SCRS disability 
benefit can be evaluated. Please note that you will 
not be eligible for an SCRS disability benefit if the 
disability onset date established by the Social 
Security Administration is more than one year after 
the date of your termination from employment. 
Please be reminded that, because your SCRS 
disability retirement application must still be filed 
while you are in service, you should not wait to 
submit your disability retirement application to 
PEBA until your Social Security disability claim has 
been decided. 

If PEBA approves your disability retirement claim, 
your benefit will be calculated based on your 
accrued average final compensation and service 
credit as of your date of retirement. 

Effective date of a disability 
benefit 
Once you have provided a copy of the Social 
Security Award letter to PEBA, your SCRS disability 
benefit will be effective the later of the disability 
onset date established by the Social Security 
Administration or the day after your termination 
from employment. Retroactive benefits will be paid 
back to the later of these two dates. 

The disability retirement benefit will be based upon 
your years of credited service at retirement, 
average final compensation at retirement, and the 
current benefit multiplier for service retirement 
benefits. However, the annual benefit may not be 
less than 15 percent of your average final 
compensation. 

Continuing disability review 
If you have not yet reached age 65, you must 
provide a document indicating your continued 
receipt of Social Security disability benefits to PEBA 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/
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each year. PEBA must receive this annual continued 
receipt document within 30 days after the 
anniversary date of your SCRS disability retirement. 

Failure to produce documentation of your 
continued receipt of Social Security disability 
benefits within 30 days after the anniversary date of 
your SCRS disability retirement will result in 
suspension of your SCRS disability benefit. Your 
SCRS disability benefit will be reinstated if you 
provide the necessary documentation of your 
continued receipt of Social Security disability 
benefits within one year of the anniversary date of 
your SCRS disability retirement. Failure to produce 
documentation within one year of the anniversary 
date of your SCRS disability retirement will result in 
the permanent termination of your SCRS disability 
benefit.  

Returning to employment while 
receiving a disability retirement 
benefit 
If you are under age 65 and receiving an SCRS 
disability benefit, you should report earnings from 
any gainful (public or private) employment to PEBA 
annually because there is an earnings limitation for 
all employment which is applied on a calendar-year 
basis. You may earn the difference between your 
adjusted average final compensation (AFC) at 
retirement and your disability benefit without 
affecting your benefit. 

Your AFC may be adjusted each year for inflation for 
earnings limitation purposes only. This increase 
generally matches the percentage of the annual 
increase in the Consumer Price Index for Wage 
Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W). These 
adjustments affect the amount you can earn while 
receiving a disability benefit; however, they do not 
affect the amount of your benefit. You will receive a 
letter each February advising you of how much you 
can earn and requesting confirmation of your prior 
year’s earnings. You will have to repay any benefits 

that you received to which you were not entitled. If 
you earn more than the difference between your 
adjusted AFC and your disability benefit, your 
monthly benefit will be reduced or possibly 
canceled. If you return to work with an employer 
covered by one of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA and your annual earnable 
compensation is equal to or greater than your 
adjusted AFC, your disability benefit ceases and you 
must become an active member of the system. 
After age 65, a disability retiree is subject to the 
same earnings limitation as a service retiree (see 
Page 28). 

Additional information  
Because a disability retiree must annually establish 
continued approval for Social Security disability 
benefits in order to continue to receive an SCRS 
disability retirement benefit, any post-retirement 
employment that causes a disability retiree to no 
longer receive Social Security disability benefits will 
also result in the discontinuance of the retiree’s 
SCRS disability retirement benefit. For more 
information about returning to employment while 
receiving Social Security disability benefits, see 
Working While Disabled—How We Can Help, which 
is available from the Social Security Administration 
at http://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10095.pdf. 

Leaving before retirement 
If you leave your job and terminate all employment 
covered by one or more of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA before you are eligible to 
retire, you have two options concerning your 
contributions: 

• Request a refund of your employee 
contributions plus the interest earned on 
your account; or 

• Leave your funds in your SCRS account. 
Your account will continue to accrue 
interest until your account becomes 
inactive. Your SCRS account is considered 

http://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10095.pdf
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inactive when no contributions have been 
made to the account in the preceding fiscal 
year and no other active, correlated system 
or State ORP account exists.  

Request a refund  
If you have terminated all employment covered by 
one or more of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA and wish to receive a refund 
of your accumulated employee contributions plus 
the interest earned on your account, you must 
complete a Refund Request (Form 4101) and return 
it to PEBA. You may submit your refund request 
immediately upon termination; however, by law, 
your refund cannot be paid sooner than 90 days 
after your termination, and may not be paid later 
than six months after the date of your request. If 
you are working for two or more covered employers 
and/or contributing to more than one retirement 
account (i.e., working two jobs and paying into an 
SCRS and a PORS account), you must stop working 
in all correlated systems to request a refund from 
any account. 

If you receive a refund, you forfeit your rights to any 
future service retirement or disability benefit. 
Employer contributions are not refunded. Instead of 
having the refund paid directly to you, you may 
choose to roll over the funds into an IRA, a 401(k) 
plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(a) plan, a 403(b) 
plan, or some 457 plans. The South Carolina 
Deferred Compensation Program’s 457 retirement 
plan does not accept rollovers from your SCRS 
account. 

PEBA is required to withhold federal taxes of 20 
percent on the taxable portion of any refund that is 
eligible for a rollover but is not transferred directly 
into another qualified retirement plan. If you do not 
take advantage of a rollover as indicated above and 
are under the age of 59 ½ at the time of 
distribution, your distribution will be subject to 
regular income tax in the year you receive the 

payment, plus there may be a 10 percent penalty 
tax on the taxable portion of your distribution, 
unless certain exceptions apply. 

See Special Tax Rules in IRS Publication 575 and IRS 
Form 5329 for more information on this tax penalty 
and the exceptions to the penalty. 

Be sure to check with an accountant or a tax advisor 
about your tax liability, or visit the IRS’s website at 
www.irs.gov and the website for the tax agency in 
the state in which you reside. In South Carolina, visit 
the South Carolina Department of Revenue’s 
website at https://dor.sc.gov/. 

Leave funds on deposit  
When you leave your money in your SCRS account, 
you retain your years of service credit, which may 
be added to any future service you may accrue 
should you later become employed in a position 
covered by one of the correlated retirement 
systems administered by PEBA. Your account will 
continue to earn interest until it becomes inactive. 
An account is considered inactive when no 
contributions have been made to the account in the 
preceding fiscal year and no other active, correlated 
system or State ORP account exists. You may apply 
for a refund at a later date or apply for a service 
retirement benefit upon reaching eligibility. No 
action is required if you wish to retain your 
membership and leave your funds on deposit, but it 
is your responsibility to keep PEBA informed of your 
current address as well as any name or beneficiary 
changes. You can make certain updates to your 
account information through PEBA’s secure 
Member Access website (see Pages 2-3 for more 
information). 

Service retirement 
A good way to begin the planning process for 
retirement is to attend a retirement seminar 
offered by PEBA. Sessions are held regionally in the 
fall. The seminar schedule can be found on the 

https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web4101.xdp
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p575.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f5329.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f5329.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
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PEBA website at https://www.peba.sc.gov/events/. 
You can also register to attend a seminar through 
this website. If you are considering retirement, you 
may obtain a consultation by telephone or in 
person at our office. Simply contact the Customer 
Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to 
arrange a consultation or visit our office. Walk-ins 
are welcome. 

When to apply 
You must file an application with PEBA to retire; it is 
not automatic. You may file your application as 
early as six months prior to your desired effective 
date of retirement but no later than 90 days 
afterward. We encourage you to file your 
application as early as possible. Retirement 
applications and other forms are available on the 
PEBA website at https://www.peba.sc.gov/ or you 
may contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to request these 
forms. 

If you do not receive notification of PEBA’s receipt 
of your application within 10 days after submitting 
it, contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430. Please do not 
terminate employment until PEBA has verified your 
service credit and you receive written notice of your 
retirement eligibility from PEBA. This notice will be 
sent to you in the mail and is entitled, Notification 
of Retirement Eligibility and Estimated Benefit. 
Benefit estimates may be obtained from PEBA but 
are projected based on information you provide and 
information in PEBA’s records. Benefit estimates are 
subject to change upon review of your account after 
PEBA receives your retirement application. 

Eligibility 
If you meet the following requirements, you are 
considered eligible to retire (see Correlated 
Systems on Page 2 if you have an account in more 
than one retirement system): 

 
Normal retirement (unreduced benefit) 
Class Two members: 

• 28 years of service credit on the date of 
retirement, five years of which must be 
earned service credit; or 

• Age 65 or older on the date of retirement 
with five years of earned service credit. 

Class Three members: 
• Meet the Rule of 90 requirement with at 

least eight years of earned service credit. 
This means that your age and years of 
service credit must add up to 90. For 
example, a member who is 56 years old and 
has at least 34 years of service credit, eight 
years of which must be earned service 
credit, would be eligible for normal 
retirement (56 + 34 = 90). 

• Age 65 or older on the date of retirement 
with eight years of earned service credit. 

Early retirement (reduced benefit) 
Class Two members: 

• Age 60 with at least five years of earned 
service credit. Your benefit is permanently 
reduced 5 percent for each year of age less 
than 65; or 

• Age 55 or older with 25 years of service 
credit, five years of which must be earned 
service credit. Your benefit is permanently 
reduced 4 percent for each year of service 
credit less than 28. Benefit adjustment 
restrictions apply (see Page 18). 

Class Three members: 
• Age 60 with at least eight years of earned 

service credit. Your benefit is permanently 
reduced 5 percent for each year of age less 
than 65. 

 
 

https://www.peba.sc.gov/events/
https://www.peba.sc.gov/
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Retiree health insurance 
eligibility 
The eligibility requirements for a service benefit and 
for retiree health insurance are not the same. If you 
are covered by the state’s health insurance 
program, be sure to read the eligibility 
requirements in the Insurance Benefits Guide or 
contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or toll free at 888.260.9430 for 
eligibility information. If your employer does not 
participate in the state’s employee health insurance 
program, contact your employer for information 
about insurance in retirement. 

Average final compensation 
Your average final compensation, commonly 
referred to as AFC, is an important part of the 
formula used to calculate your retirement benefit.  

If you are a Class Two member, your AFC is the 12 
highest consecutive quarters2 of earnable 
compensation on which you made regular member 
contributions and were earning service credit. An 
amount up to and including 45 days' termination 
pay for unused annual leave at retirement may be 
included in your AFC calculation. For an elected 
official, AFC may be calculated as the average 
annual earnable compensation for the 36 
consecutive months before the expiration of the 
elected official's term of office.  

If you are a Class Three member, your AFC is the 20 
highest consecutive quarters2 of earnable 
compensation on which you made regular member 
contributions and were earning service credit. 
Termination pay for unused annual leave at 
retirement is not included in the AFC calculation.  

One of PEBA’s goals is to start your benefit payment 
as soon as possible so that you are not without 

                                                            
2 A quarter means a period January through March, April 
through June, July through September, or October through 
December. 

income once you terminate employment. To make 
this possible, your initial benefit payment does not 
include any credit for unused sick or annual leave, if 
applicable, nor does it include your final earnable 
compensation information. Until all of this 
information is received from your employer, you 
will receive an estimated benefit. 

If you are a Class Two member, after your employer 
submits your final earnable compensation 
information, which is in the form of quarterly 
retirement contributions, PEBA will audit the 
retirement contributions for your 12 highest 
consecutive quarters of earnable compensation. For 
work performed after December 31, 2012, your AFC 
does not include any overtime pay not mandated by 
your employer. Your AFC may be adjusted after the 
audit if any of the contributions included in the AFC 
calculation were for any payments not considered a 
part of your regular earnable compensation base. 
Your AFC will also be adjusted according to statute 
to include payment for your unused annual leave 
(see Unused leave at retirement on Page 13.) As a 
result of the information received from your 
employer and the audit of the contributions for 
your 12 highest consecutive quarters of earnable 
compensation, your retirement benefit will be 
finalized. The final amount may be less than, or 
more than, your estimated benefit. 

If you are a Class Three member, you will have 
retirement contributions for your 20 highest 
consecutive quarters of earnable compensation 
audited. Your earnable compensation does not 
include any overtime pay not mandated by your 
employer. You will not receive service credit for 
unused sick leave at retirement, nor will payment at 
retirement for your unused annual leave be 
included in the calculation of your AFC. 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/assets/insurancebenefitsguide.pdf
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Service retirement benefit 
calculations  
Class Two membership 
The four-step formula below is used to calculate 
your Class Two monthly benefit based on the 
Option A payment plan described on Page 14. 

Step 1 Total your 12 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation and 
allowable annual leave payout and 
divide by 3.3 This produces your AFC.  

Step 2 Multiply the result of Step 1 by 1.82 
percent (.0182). 

Step 3 Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 
months, and days of service.4 

Step 4 Divide the result of Step 3 by 12. 

Class Two example 
For a Class Two member with 28 years of service 
credit, and an AFC of $30,000: 

$30,000 multiplied by 1.82 percent (.0182) equals 
$546 

$546 multiplied by 28 equals $15,288 

$15,288 divided by 12 equals $1,274 (Option A 
monthly benefit) 

Unused leave at retirement 
Annual leave 
Only an amount up to and including 45 days’ pay for 
unused annual leave from a Class Two member’s 
last termination payment shall be included before 
averaging the member’s 12 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation (see Step 1 of 

                                                            
3 The dollar amount of payment for up to 45 days of unused annual 
leave paid by a Class Two member’s last employer at retirement may be 
included before averaging the member’s 12 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation. The result of Step 1 is the 
member’s average final compensation (AFC). 

the benefit formula above). If you are a Class Two 
member who is or plans to become a participant in 
the Teacher and Employee Retention Incentive 
(TERI) program, please see Page 16 concerning 
unused annual leave provisions. 

Sick leave 
At retirement, a Class Two member may receive 
service credit for up to 90 days of unused sick leave 
from the member’s last employer at no cost to the 
member (see Step 3 of the benefit formula). This 
service credit cannot be used to establish 
retirement eligibility. Sick leave is reported by a 
Class Two member’s employer after retirement. 
One month of service credit is granted for each 20 
days of sick leave. 

School district and higher education 
employees 
Adjustments may be required so that you receive 
credit for three full years of earnings. Such 
adjustments may include changes in payroll cycles, 
contract payouts, and any other occurrence that 
could potentially cause the AFC to include more or 
less than three full years of earnings. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

4Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to determine 
a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 25 years, 2 months 
and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 plus 10). 70 divided by 360 
equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 years of service. 
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Class Three membership 
The four-step formula below is used to calculate 
your Class Three monthly benefit based on the 
Option A payment plan described on Page 21. 

Step 1 Total your 20 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation and 
divide by 5. This produces your AFC. 

Step 2 Multiply the result of Step 1 by 1.82 
percent (.0182). 

Step 3 Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 
months, and days of service.5 

Step 4 Divide the result of Step 3 by 12. 

Class Three example 
For a Class Three member who is age 60 with 30 
years of service credit (satisfying the Rule of 90) and 
an AFC of $30,000:  

$30,000 multiplied by 1.82 percent (.0182) equals 
$546 
$546 multiplied by 30 equals $16,380 
$16,380 divided by 12 equals $1,365 (Option A 
monthly benefit) 

Unused leave at retirement 
Class Three members will not receive service credit 
for any unused sick leave at retirement and any pay 
you receive at termination for unused annual leave 
will not be included in the calculation of your 
average final compensation. 

Payment options at 
retirement 
There are three monthly benefit payment options 
available to you at retirement. Select the option 
that best suits your needs. Generally, your payment 

                                                            
5Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to determine 
a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 25 years, 2 months 

option may not be changed once your benefit is first 
payable. 

Option A (maximum retiree only 
monthly benefit) 
This option provides the maximum monthly benefit 
available and will pay you a lifetime benefit based 
on your average final compensation, years of 
service, and a multiplier (.0182). After your death, 
PEBA will return, through a lump-sum payment to 
your beneficiary or your estate, the remaining 
balance of any member contributions and interest, 
including any working retiree contributions, not 
exhausted through receipt of your benefit during 
your retirement. 

Option B (100% - 100% joint 
retiree-survivor monthly benefit) 

You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 
benefit for life. After your death, the same benefit 
(100 percent of your reduced monthly benefit, 
including granted benefit adjustments) will continue 
throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. If all of your 
designated beneficiaries predecease you, your 
benefit will revert to Option A, including any benefit 
adjustments granted since your retirement date. 

You may select Option B only if your designated 
beneficiary is your spouse, or you designate 
multiple beneficiaries or a sole beneficiary who is 
not your spouse and who is within the 10-year age 
difference limits allowed by an Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) formula. The non-spousal limits do not 
apply if the non-spousal beneficiary is older than 
you, or in the case of disability retirement or death 
benefits. If, based on the IRC formula, the adjusted 
age difference for you and a non-spousal 
beneficiary exceeds the IRC limits, Option B would 

and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 plus 10). 70 divided by 360 
equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 years of service. 
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not be available to you. You would be able to select 
Option C, however, with no IRC restrictions. 

Option C (100% - 50% joint 
retiree-survivor monthly benefit) 
You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 
benefit for life. After your death, one-half of the 
benefit (50 percent of your reduced monthly 
benefit, including granted benefit adjustments) will 
continue throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. If 
all of your designated beneficiaries predecease you, 
your benefit will revert to Option A, including any 
benefit adjustments granted since your retirement 
date. 

If you choose Option B or  
Option C 
If you choose Option B or Option C and name 
multiple beneficiaries, after your death your benefit 
will be divided equally among those beneficiaries. 
The benefit will not change for the remaining 
beneficiaries if one beneficiary dies, either before or 
after the member dies. If you select Option B or 
Option C and all of your designated beneficiaries 
predecease you, your benefit will revert to Option A 
effective in the month following the month the last 
beneficiary died. You must notify PEBA upon the 
death of a beneficiary. 
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Approximate amount of Option A monthly benefit at retirement 
The information in the table below is based on Option A. Choosing Option B or Option C to provide a future 
benefit for beneficiaries (or retiring with SCRS early retirement reductions) will reduce the amount of your 
monthly benefit. Early retirement reductions may also apply—see Page 11 for more details. 

AFC Years of service 

Additional 
monthly 

benefit for 
each 

additional 
year 

 56 10 15 20 25 28 30 35 40  

$20,000 $152 $303 $445 $607 $758 $849 $910 $1,062 $1,213 $30 

$25,000 $190 $379 $569 $758 $948 $1,062 $1,138 $1,327 $1,517 $38 

$30,000 $228 $455 $683 $910 $1,138 $1,274 $1,365 $1,593 $1,820 $46 

$35,000 $265 $531 $796 $1,062 $1,327 $1,486 $1,593 $1,858 $2,123 $53 

$40,000 $303 $607 $910 $1,213 $1,517 $1,699 $1,820 $2,123 $2,427 $61 

$45,000 $341 $683 $1,024 $1,365 $1,706 $1,911 $2,048 $2,389 $2,730 $68 

$50,000 $379 $758 $1,138 $1,517 $1,896 $2,123 $2,275 $2,654 $3,033 $76 

$55,000 $417 $834 $1,251 $1,668 $2,085 $2,336 $2,503 $2,920 $3,337 $83 

$60,000 $455 $910 $1,365 $1,820 $2,275 $2,548 $2,730 $3,185 $3,640 $91 

$65,000 $493 $986 $1,479 $1,972 $2,465 $2,760 $2,958 $3,450 $3,943 $99 

$70,000 $531 $1,062 $1,593 $2,123 $2,654 $2,973 $3,185 $3,716 $4,247 $106 

$75,000 $569 $1,138 $1,706 $2,275 $2,844 $3,185 $3,413 $3,981 $4,550 $114 

$80,000 $607 $1,213 $1,820 $2,427 $3,033 $3,397 $3,640 $4,247 $4,853 $121 

$85,000 $645 $1,289 $1,934 $2,578 $3,223 $3,610 $3,868 $4,512 $5,157 $129 

$90,000 $683 $1,365 $2,024 $2,730 $3,413 $3,822 $4,095 $4,778 $5,460 $137 

$95,000 $720 $1,441 $2,161 $2,882 $3,602 $4,034 $4,323 $5,043 $5,763 $144 

$100,000 $758 $1,517 $2,275 $3,033 $3,792 $4,247 $4,550 $5,308 $6,067 $152 

$110,000 $834 $1,668 $2,503 $3,337 $4,171 $4,671 $5,005 $5,839 $6,673 $167 

                                                            
6SCRS early retirement reduction may apply. 
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TERI Program – Class Two 
members only 
If you are an active Class Two member who is 
eligible for service retirement based on any of the 
criteria outlined on Page 17, you may elect to 
participate in the Teacher and Employee Retention 
Incentive (TERI) program when you complete your 
application for service retirement. To participate in 
the TERI program, you must enroll at the time of 
your retirement. 

TERI participants employed by an agency that 
adheres to state personnel policies will be exempt 
from the State Employee Grievance Procedure Act. 
This means your employment as a TERI participant 
is at will. If a TERI participant works for an employer 
that is not governed by state personnel policies, the 
TERI participant would be subject to his employer’s 
policies regarding employment status and rights. 

How the TERI Program works 
TERI participation allows you to retire and begin 
accumulating your monthly benefit on a deferred 
basis without terminating your employment. During 
your TERI period you will pay the same pre-tax 
contribution rate as active members for the 
duration of your TERI period; however, you will not 
earn service credit or interest on your account. 

Your monthly benefit is accumulated in your TERI 
account. No interest is paid on the benefits 
accumulated in your TERI account. Retiree benefit 
adjustments are applied to a TERI participant’s 
monthly benefit in the same manner in which other 
retirees receive such adjustments. You may 
participate in TERI only once. If you retired 
previously and received a service or a disability 
retirement benefit from SCRS, you are not eligible 
to participate in the TERI program. However, 
disability retirees who repaid all of the benefits they 
received and were restored to active membership 
are eligible to participate in the TERI program. 

Participants of the TERI program are not eligible for 
a disability retirement benefit.  

If you die during your TERI participation period and 
your employer provides the incidental death 
benefit, your beneficiary may be entitled to a 
payment equal to one year’s earnable 
compensation. If you die while participating in TERI, 
in addition to any eligible incidental death benefit, 
the total amount of your benefits accumulated in 
your TERI account will be distributed to the 
beneficiary designated for your retirement benefit. 
A designated beneficiary who is a spouse may roll 
over the taxable portion of the TERI balance into an 
IRA, a 401(k) plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) 
plan, or a 457 plan. A non-spousal beneficiary may 
roll over the taxable portion of the TERI balance 
into an inherited or beneficiary IRA only. 

At the end of your TERI period, you must terminate 
employment. Confirmation of your actual 
termination date is required from your employer. 
You may then receive the balance in your TERI 
account through either a taxable, single-sum 
distribution payable directly to you or through a 
tax-deferred rollover into a qualified retirement 
plan such as the South Carolina Deferred 
Compensation Program. Any distribution paid 
directly to you is subject to ordinary federal and 
state income taxes and may be subject to an 
additional 10 percent federal penalty for early 
withdrawal. 

Unused annual leave and your AFC 
The initial benefit payments posted to your TERI 
account will be based on information received up to 
that point because your account is considered to be 
estimated. After your employer submits your final 
earnable compensation information, retirement 
contributions for your 12 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation will be audited. 
Your benefit may be adjusted accordingly after the 
audit to include service credit for up to 90 days of 
unused sick leave only. Your account will remain in 



SCRS Member Handbook 
18 

this status for the duration of your TERI period. 
Upon termination of employment at the end of 
your TERI participation, your benefit will be 
recalculated by increasing your AFC to include 
payment for up to 45 days of unused annual leave 
paid at termination, divided by three. 

Returning to covered employment after 
TERI participation 
If you plan to return to work for a covered employer 
after your TERI period ends, you must consult with 
your employer regarding your employer’s 
employment severance and return-to-work policy. 
You are not guaranteed employment; a covered 
employer decides whether or not to hire you after 
your TERI period has ended. Regardless of your TERI 
retirement date, if you return to work after your 
TERI participation has ended, you will make 
employee contributions. 

TERI Program to close June 30, 2018 
Initially, TERI participants could defer receipt of 
their retirement benefit for up to 60 months; 
however, the TERI program will be closed effective 
June 30, 2018. Class Two members who enter the 
TERI program after July 1, 2013, will not be eligible 
to participate in TERI for the full 60 months. 
Instead, their TERI participation will end on June 30, 
2018, regardless of when they entered the 
program. For example: 

• A member who began his TERI participation 
on July 1, 2013, is eligible to participate in 
the TERI program for all 60 months before 
the program is closed on June 30, 2018. 

• A member who enters the TERI program on 
July 1, 2014, will only be able to participate 
in the program for four years before the 
program is closed. 

• A member who decides to enter the TERI 
program on June 1, 2018, will be eligible to 
participate for 30 days before the program 
is closed on June 30, 2018. 

The TERI program is not available to 
Class Three members. 

Post-retirement information 
Monthly benefit payments 
Monthly benefit payments are directly deposited 
into your bank account on the last business day of 
each month. Electronic distribution of monthly 
benefit payments reduces risks to both benefit 
recipients and the state, as well as reduces costs to 
your retirement plan. You may add or change your 
direct deposit information any time by logging into 
PEBA’s secure Member Access website for 
retirement benefits or contact the Customer 
Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to 
request a Direct Deposit Authorization (Form 7204).  

Taxes 
The taxable portion of your monthly benefit and 
any incidental death benefit payments to your 
beneficiary are subject to federal and state income 
taxes. Since tax laws are complex and constantly 
changing, be sure to check with an accountant or a 
tax advisor about your tax liability, or visit the IRS’s 
website at www.irs.gov and the website for the tax 
agency in the state in which you reside. In South 
Carolina, visit the South Carolina Department of 
Revenue’s website at https://dor.sc.gov/.  

Additional information for disability 
retirees 
Disability applications that were received by PEBA 
prior to January 1, 2014 
If you are an SCRS member who applied for 
disability retirement and whose application was 
received by PEBA prior to January 1, 2014, and you 
are receiving a disability benefit, the disability 
benefits paid to you by PEBA are reported annually 
on IRS Form 1099-R as normal distributions for 
income tax purposes. This is in accordance with IRS 
guidelines, which also direct usage of various codes 
to reflect the taxability of a payment, or 
distribution, for income tax purposes. PEBA is 

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web7204.xdp
http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
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required to use a code 7 in box 7 of your Form 
1099-R rather than a code 3 because the disability 
program for applications received by PEBA prior to 
January 1, 2014, is an occupational or job-related 
disability program rather than a total and 
permanent disability program as described in 
section 72(m)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code. A 
code 7 in box 7 of your Form 1099-R means that 
you are not subject to the 10 percent tax penalty 
for early withdrawal because you receive your 
retirement benefits through a monthly benefit; 
however, these benefits should be included as 
ordinary income for tax purposes. 

Although the Form 1099-R you receive from PEBA 
correctly contains a code 7 in box 7, you may also 
receive monthly benefits from the Social Security 
Administration and be considered totally and 
permanently disabled for Social Security 
purposes. If you are considered totally and 
permanently disabled for Social Security purposes, 
you may qualify for the Credit for the Elderly or the 
Disabled. Please refer to Schedule R when 
completing your tax return. You must keep for your 
records a copy of your physician’s statement, which 
certifies that you were permanently and totally 
disabled on the date that you retired. 

Disability applications that are received by PEBA 
after December 31, 2013 
For SCRS disability benefits paid to a member who 
applied for disability retirement and whose 
application was received by PEBA after December 
31, 2013, PEBA will report your disability benefits 
annually to the IRS on Form 1099-R using a code 3 
because disability retirees must be entitled to and 
receiving benefits from the Social Security 
Administration. This means disability retirees are 
considered totally and permanently disabled for 
Social Security and PEBA purposes. 

Benefit adjustments 
Per current state law, effective each July 1, eligible 
SCRS retirees are to receive an annual benefit 

adjustment of 1 percent of their annual benefit up 
to a maximum of $500 per year. The increase will be 
reflected in benefit payments issued on the last 
business day of July since benefits are payable the 
last business day of the month. 

The earliest you can receive a benefit adjustment is 
the second July 1 after your date of retirement. 
Class Two members who retire under the early 
retirement provisions at age 55 with 25 years of 
service are not eligible for benefit adjustments until 
the earlier of the second July 1 after they reach age 
60 or the second July 1 after the date they would 
have had 28 years of service credit had they not 
retired. 

Non-working retired member 
incidental death benefit 
As a non-working retiree, if you die and your last 
employer prior to retirement provides incidental 
death benefit coverage (see Page 6), a payment 
based on your service credit will be paid to your 
beneficiaries as follows: 

Years of Service 
Credit 

Incidental Death 
Benefit Payment 

10 to 19 years of 
service credit 

$2,000 

20 to 27 years of 
service credit 

$4,000 

28 or more years of 
service credit 

$6,000 

 

Amounts paid to your beneficiary are considered 
taxable benefits; therefore, federal taxes will be 
withheld unless your beneficiary rolls over the 
money into another qualified retirement plan. It is 
up to your beneficiary to request that state taxes be 
withheld from the payment. 

 

http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040sr.pdf
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Returning to covered 
employment 
Return-to-work rules for SCRS members changed 
January 2, 2013. To return to work after you retire, 
you must first have a complete, bona fide severance 
or termination of employment. After 30 days of 
retirement, you may be hired by an employer 
covered by one of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA. For Class Two members, 
participation in the TERI Program counts toward the 
required 30days of retirement. If you return to 
covered employment sooner than 30 consecutive 
calendar days after retirement, your monthly 
benefit will be suspended while you remain 
employed by a covered employer. A severance from 
employment is required at the end of the TERI 
program before a member may receive his 
accumulated benefits or return to covered 
employment. 

Earnings limitation from covered 
employment – service retiree 
If you retire before you reach age 62 and return to 
covered employment, you will be subject to a 
$10,000 per year earnings limitation. This means 
you can earn up to $10,000 per year from covered 
employment and continue to receive your 
retirement benefit. If you continue covered 
employment after earning more than $10,000 in a 
calendar year, your monthly benefit will be 
suspended for the remainder of that year. The 
$10,000 earnings limitation applies regardless of 
your age when you return to covered employment. 
For example, if you retire at age 58 with 30 years of 
service and return to covered employment when 
you are 63 years old, you would still be subject to 
the $10,000 earnings limitation since you retired 
before you reached age 62.   

The $10,000 earnings limitation from covered 
employment does not apply to members who 
retired prior to January 2, 2013, or members who 

retire after age 62. In addition, the limitation does 
not apply to compensation for service as an elected 
official, service as an appointee of the Governor 
with confirmation by the South Carolina Senate, or 
service by appointment or election by the General 
Assembly. 

Critical needs teachers’ exemption 
Under certain circumstances, a retired member may 
return to covered employment without affecting his 
monthly benefit if he is a certified teacher and is 
employed by a school district to teach in the 
classroom in his area of certification. The $10,000 
earnings limitation does not apply if the State 
Department of Education determines that no 
qualified, non-retired member is available for 
employment in the position, and that a certified 
teacher is teaching in a critical academic need area 
or a geographic need area as defined by the State 
Board of Education, or that a retired certified school 
teacher or certified employee is employed in a 
school or school district that has received a below 
average or unsatisfactory academic performance 
rating pursuant to the Education Accountability Act. 
After approval is received from the Department of 
Education, school districts must notify PEBA of the 
member’s exemption from the earnings limitation. 

Earnings limitation from all employment 
– disability retiree 
Please see the Returning to employment while 
receiving a disability retirement benefit section on 
Pages 8-9 for information about the calendar year 
earnings limitation for disability retirees. 

Employment status 
Any retired member who is employed by an agency 
that adheres to state personnel policies will be 
exempt from the State Employee Grievance 
Procedure Act. This means your employment is at 
will. If, as a retired member, you return to work for 
an employer that is not governed by state 
personnel policies, you would be subject to your 
employer’s policies regarding employment status 
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and rights. TERI participants employed by an agency 
that is covered by the State Employee Grievance 
Procedure Act will be exempt from the 
requirements of that Act (employment is at will). If 
a TERI participant works for an employer that is not 
governed by state personnel policies, the member 
would be subject to his employer’s policies 
regarding employment status and rights. Any 
payout of unused annual leave to a working retiree 
will not be used in calculation of his benefit. Any 
member having questions regarding his 
employment status and rights upon becoming a 
TERI participant should contact his employer for 
clarification. 

Working 48 continuous months 
If you return to employment and work 48 
continuous months for a covered employer with an 
annual earnable compensation of at least 75 
percent of the AFC used to calculate your monthly 
benefit, you may elect to cease your monthly 
benefit and become an active member of SCRS (or 
PORS, if applicable). If you become an active 
member again, you have the option to repay some 
or all retirement benefits. When you subsequently 
retire, your monthly benefit will be calculated as if 
you were retiring for the first time. TERI 
participation does not count toward the 48-month 
period. If you begin this process for the purpose of 
establishing eligibility for retiree health insurance, 
please contact PEBA for assistance. 

Working retired member 
incidental death benefit 
If you are a TERI participant or a working retired 
member and your employer provides incidental 
death benefit coverage, a payment equal to your 
current annual earnable compensation will be paid 
to your beneficiary if you die while in service. 
Amounts paid to your beneficiary are considered 
taxable benefits; therefore, federal taxes will be 
withheld unless your beneficiary rolls over the 

money into another qualified retirement plan. It is 
up to your beneficiary to request that state taxes be 
withheld from the payment. 

Working retired member 
contribution rate 
If you return to work for a covered employer after 
you retire, you will contribute the same tax-
deferred percentage of your gross pay into your 
SCRS retirement account as an active member. As a 
working retiree, you will not earn additional service 
credit or receive interest on your account; however, 
you can be assured of getting back contributions 
made as a working retiree through benefit 
payments to you or your surviving beneficiary if you 
chose payment Option B or Option C at retirement. 
If you chose payment Option A at retirement and 
the retiree contributions have not been exhausted 
through the payment of benefits to you, a refund of 
contributions will be paid to your designated 
beneficiary. 

Beneficiary and payment 
option changes 
Retired member incidental death 
benefit 
You may change your beneficiary for the retired 
member incidental death benefit at any time 
regardless of the payment option you selected. 

Option A 
You may change your beneficiary for retirement 
benefits at any time. If you have a change in marital 
status (death of spouse, marriage, divorce), you 
may also select a new payment option within five 
years of the qualifying event. 

Option B and Option C 
If all of your beneficiaries predecease you, your 
monthly benefit will revert to Option A effective in 
the month following the month the last beneficiary 
died. You must notify PEBA upon the death of a 
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beneficiary. You may then designate a new 
beneficiary under Option A. If you have a change in 
marital status (death of spouse, marriage, divorce), 
you may also select a new payment option and 
designate a new beneficiary within five years of the 
qualifying event. 

Payment option change limitation 
Your form of monthly payment may not be changed 
more than twice regardless of the number of events 
(death of a designated beneficiary or change in 
marital status) that occur. A reversion to Option A 
after the death of your beneficiary will count as one 
of the two changes. If a second beneficiary 
predeceases you after you have again selected 
Option B or Option C, you will revert automatically 
to Option A; however, no further form of payment 
changes will be allowed. Changes in form of 
payment occurring before January 1, 2001, are not 
included in the limitation provision. 

For more information 
Be sure to visit PEBA’s website at www.peba.sc.gov 
for additional information, resources, and tools. 
Estimate what your retirement benefit will be by 
using one of our online calculators. 

PEBA uses various social media platforms to 
communicate with employers, members, the media, 
and other stakeholders. We invite you to take 
advantage of these communications tools by liking 
us on Facebook and following us on Instagram, 
Twitter, and YouTube. We encourage you to join 
the conversation. 

You may also contact PEBA by telephone at 
803.737.6800 or toll free at 888.260.9430, by email 
at https://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html, or by 
live chat by clicking on the Customer Service Chat 
Now button at the top of the PEBA homepage. 
Please note that PEBA does not answer questions 
about a specific individual’s benefits through Live 
Chat. 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/
http://www.peba.sc.gov/retirement.html
https://twitter.com/scpeba
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClSf6F6cIG0mmFjRJx7x5gQ
https://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html


202 Arbor Lake Drive
Columbia, SC 29223

803.737.6800 | 888.260.9430
www.peba.sc.gov
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