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Disclaimer
Benefits administrators and others chosen by your 
employer to assist you with your participation 
in the employee benefit programs administered 
by the South Carolina Public Employee Benefit 
Authority (PEBA) are not agents or employees of 
PEBA and are not authorized to bind PEBA or make 
representations on behalf of PEBA.

General information
The South Carolina Retirement System (SCRS) is 
a defined benefit retirement plan administered 
by the South Carolina Public Employee Benefit 
Authority (PEBA) for employees of state agencies, 
public and charter school districts, public higher 
education institutions, and other local subdivisions 
of government that have joined SCRS, as well 
as individuals first elected to the South Carolina 
General Assembly at or after the general election 
in November 2012. This handbook provides a 
general introduction to SCRS and its plan benefits. 
If you are eligible and elect to participate in the 
State Optional Retirement Program (State ORP) 
defined contribution plan in lieu of SCRS, contact 
your State ORP service provider for information 
regarding the administration of your benefits.

Membership and enrollment
Your employer will initiate the retirement 
enrollment process. You will need to provide a 
valid email address to your employer. Then, you 
will make your plan election when you respond to 
the Retirement Plan Election email you receive from 
PEBA.

You have 30 days from your date of hire to make 
your decision. If you do not make a selection 
within that time period, you will automatically 
become a member of SCRS. You must complete 
an enrollment election regardless of the plan you 
intend to select. If you have not yet made your 

decision, please refer to the Select Your Retirement 
Plan guide and the “It’s Your Choice: SCRS or State 
ORP” video.

Membership is mandatory as a condition of 
your employment with a covered employer 
unless you are in a position or classification 
of employment specifically exempted from 
membership by statute. Other classifications, such 
as non-permanent employees, have the option 
to elect non-membership within 30 days from 
their date of hire, unless the employee already 
has an SCRS account. Your employer should 
let you know if your employment falls into one 
of these categories. Newly hired employees of 
state agencies, public school districts and higher 
education institutions may choose participation 
in the State ORP instead of SCRS within 30 days 
of their date of hire. However, if a member is 
employed by two covered employers, he must 
continue membership in his original retirement 
plan. 

Your SCRS membership starts when you earn 
compensation from a covered employer and make 
contributions to your SCRS retirement account. 
You are considered an active member if you are 
working for an SCRS covered employer, earning 
service credit and making regular contributions 
to an SCRS retirement account, and you have not 
retired or terminated from covered employment. 
You must be an active member to be eligible for 
most of the benefits described in this handbook. 

Class Two and Class Three membership

Currently, there are two classes of membership: 
Class Two and Class Three.1 Class Two members 
are generally employees who currently have 
earned service credit in SCRS or a correlated 
retirement system for a period of service prior 

1Class One membership is no longer available.

https://peba.sc.gov/sites/default/files/select_guide.pdf
https://peba.sc.gov/sites/default/files/select_guide.pdf
https://youtu.be/P2dU-HCRl-0
https://youtu.be/P2dU-HCRl-0
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to July 1, 2012. Class Three members are those 
members who do not currently have earned 
service in SCRS or a correlated retirement system 
for a period of service prior to July 1, 2012.

A period of withdrawn service or a period of 
participation in the State ORP does not count 
toward the earned service credit used to 
determine whether a member is Class Two or Class 
Three unless the member has completed a service 
purchase to establish earned service credit in SCRS 
for the period of withdrawn service or State ORP 
participation. 

Employee contribution rate

Members of SCRS contribute 9 percent of their 
gross pay, tax-deferred, into their SCRS retirement 
accounts. Employer contribution rates to the 
system are set by a statutory schedule, subject 
to additional increases to meet certain funding 
requirements.

Member compensation limit

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) imposes a 
federal compensation limit under the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC), Section 401(a) (17). This limit, 
also referred to as a cap, is placed on the amount 
of annual compensation which may be taken 
into account for purposes of calculating pension 
contributions. Employees who became members 
of SCRS or PORS, or participants in State ORP prior 
to January 1, 1996, are not subject to the annual 
compensation limit. Employees who became 
members or participants in the plans on and after 
January 1, 1996, are subject to the compensation 
limit as adjusted by the commissioner of the IRS 
for increases in the cost of living in accordance 
with Section 401(a)(17) of the IRC. The calendar 
year 2020 compensation limit (cap) is $285,000. 
Compensation in excess of this limitation is not 
subject to retirement contributions.

Interest on your SCRS account

Your active SCRS account earns 4 percent interest 
compounded annually on your balance as of the 
previous June 30 until you retire or your account 
becomes inactive. An account is considered 
inactive when no contributions have been made 
to the account in the preceding fiscal year and 
no other active, correlated system or State ORP 
account exists.

Correlated systems
PEBA administers several other defined benefit 
retirement systems for public employees and 
officials. Two of these other systems, the Police 
Officers Retirement System (PORS) and the 
General Assembly Retirement System (GARS), 
are correlated systems with SCRS. If you 
have contributions in more than one of these 
correlated retirement systems, your service credit 
is maintained separately within each system; 
however, your service credit is added together to 
determine your eligibility for a retirement benefit. 
Although this service is combined for eligibility 
purposes, the amount of your benefit from each 
system is still calculated based only upon your 
service credit in that system.

For example, if you are an SCRS member with 
10 years of service credit and were previously a 
member of PORS with 15 years of service, you 
would be considered to have 25 years of service 
credit for the purposes of determining your 
eligibility for a retirement benefit.

Designating beneficiaries for your 
account
The retirement benefits administered by PEBA 
also offer options for you to help provide for your 
survivors in the event of your death. As an active 
member, you have the option to designate three 
types of beneficiaries for your retirement account:
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•	 Primary beneficiaries for your in-service death 
benefit (see Page 8) or refund of contributions 
(see Page 12). Multiple beneficiaries would 
share equally in a survivor monthly benefit;

•	 Contingent beneficiaries in case of death 
of the primary beneficiaries. All primary 
beneficiaries must be deceased before any 
contingent beneficiaries will be paid; and

•	 Incidental death benefit beneficiaries (see 
Page 8).

You may name your estate as a beneficiary for 
your account; however, monthly benefit payments 
cannot be paid to an estate. As an active member, 
you may change your beneficiaries at any time 
before retirement.

Online access to your SCRS account
Member Access is PEBA’s online portal that 
allows SCRS members to manage their retirement 
account. It’s safe, secure and available anytime 
from anywhere you have internet access.

Active members may:
•	 View and update their designated beneficiary 

information;

•	 View their current service credit;

•	 View and print their member statement; 

•	 Update their contact information;

•	 Create a benefit estimate;

•	 Calculate an unofficial cost estimate to 
purchase service credit;

•	 Submit a service purchase request; 

•	 Submit and view the status of their refund 
request; and

•	 Submit and view the status of their service 
retirement application. 

Retired members may:
•	 Update their contact information;  

•	 Change their tax withholdings; 

•	 View and print a 1099-R form;

•	 View and print a monthly benefit verification 
letter; 

•	 View and print an insurance premium letter;

•	 View their current payment method; 

•	 View payment history;

•	 Change their payment method from paper 
check to direct deposit; and 

•	 Modify an existing direct deposit account or 
add an additional direct deposit account.

Inactive members may:
•	 View and print their member statement; and

•	 Update their contact information.

If you haven’t registered for Member Access, you 
may do so by selecting the Member Access button 
at peba.sc.gov. From there, select Register Now to 
start the process.

Purchasing additional service credit
Active members may establish additional service 
credit for various types of previous employment 
and leaves of absence, and up to five years of non-
qualified service, which is a type of service credit 
not associated with any specific employment. 
Generally, a member on leave without pay from 
a covered employer is not eligible to establish 
service credit of any type. 

You may establish service credit through a lump-
sum payment, a pre- or post-tax installment 
service purchase or a tax-deferred rollover from 
an Individual Retirement Account (IRA), a 401(k) 
plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) plan or a 457 
plan. The interest rate for an installment service 
purchase is calculated at the prime rate plus 2 
percent. Installments initiated July 1, 2020, through 
June 30, 2021, will be calculated at 5.25 percent. 

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://peba.sc.gov
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The interest rate is fixed for the term of the 
installment.

You may establish each type of service credit once 
within a fiscal year. If you are establishing service 
to meet retirement eligibility, contact the Customer 
Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 
for more information. Payment for service 
purchases must be made in full prior to your 
retirement date or termination from employment. 
If you are terminated from covered employment 
within one year of retirement eligibility, you have 
five business days after the date of termination to 
purchase any service credit that you are otherwise 
eligible to purchase. If you previously established 
service credit for periods of part-time service or 
previously earned service credit for periods of 
part-time service prior to July 1996, you may be 
eligible to establish additional service credit at 
an additional cost. Please contact the Customer 
Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 
for more information.

One factor used to determine the cost of most 
types of service credit purchases is your career 
highest fiscal year earnable compensation. This 
includes any salary earned during a period of 
withdrawn service, regardless if the withdrawn 
service has been established through a 
service purchase. This also includes earnable 
compensation received while participating in State 
ORP if you have purchased SCRS service credit for 
any State ORP participation. The cost to purchase 
periods of less than one year will be prorated. You 
may not establish SCRS service credit for a period 
of service, other than military service, for which 
you may also receive a retirement benefit from 
another defined benefit retirement plan or for a 
period of service for which you already have credit 
in SCRS. You also may not establish SCRS service 
credit if doing so would violate Section 415 or any 
other provision of the Internal Revenue Code.

A Class Three member who purchases a period 
of withdrawn service or State ORP participation 
for any period of covered employment rendered 
prior to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 
membership.

Some types of purchased service may not be 
used in determining eligibility for retiree health 
insurance. If you are covered by the state’s 
employee health insurance program, contact 
the Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 
or 888.260.9430 for eligibility information. If 
your employer does not participate in the state’s 
employee health insurance program, contact 
your employer for information about insurance in 
retirement. 

Types of service

Public service

As an active member, you may establish SCRS 
service credit for any period of paid public service 
as an employee of the government of the United 
States, a state or political subdivision of the United 
States, by making an actuarially neutral payment 
to PEBA. The cost calculation is based in part on 
your current age and service credit, as well as your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
at the time PEBA receives your service purchase 
request. The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 
independent actuary, will not be less than 16 
percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation for each year purchased. 

Educational service (K-12)

As an active member, you may establish service 
credit for any period of paid classroom teaching 
consisting of grades kindergarten through 12 in 
a public, private or sectarian school by making 
an actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The cost 
calculation is based in part on your current age 
and service credit, as well as your career highest 
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fiscal year earnable compensation at the time 
PEBA receives your service purchase request. The 
cost, which is determined by PEBA’s independent 
actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
for each year purchased. 

Military service

As an active member, you may establish up to six 
years of service credit for any period of military 
service for which you do not already have service 
credit in SCRS, PORS or GARS by making an 
actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. This includes 
service in the United States Army, Navy, Marine 
Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, Select Reserves 
and the Army or Air National Guard. The cost 
calculation is based in part on your current age 
and service credit, as well as your career highest 
fiscal year earnable compensation at the time 
PEBA receives your service purchase request. The 
cost, which is determined by PEBA’s independent 
actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 
career highest earnable compensation for each 
year purchased.

Your discharge from service must be under 
conditions other than dishonorable. Under 
guidelines set forth by the Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act 
(USERRA), you may also arrange in advance with 
your employer to continue contributing to your 
account while on active duty military leave or make 
the contributions after returning from military 
leave within a period equal to three times the 
length of your military leave, but not more than 
five years.

Leave of absence

If you return to covered employment as an 
active member within four years of an employer-
approved leave of absence, you may purchase 

service credit for the employer-approved leave 
period for which you do not already have service 
credit, up to a maximum of two years per leave 
of absence. The leave of absence must be with 
an employer covered by one of the retirement 
systems administered by PEBA. You may establish 
this service by making an actuarially neutral 
payment to PEBA. The cost calculation is based 
in part on your current age and service credit, as 
well as your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation at the time PEBA receives your 
service purchase request. The cost, which is 
determined by PEBA’s independent actuary, will 
not be less than 16 percent of your career highest 
fiscal year earnable compensation for each year 
purchased.

Workers’ compensation

As an active member, you may establish service 
credit for a period while on a leave of absence and 
receiving workers’ compensation benefits. The cost 
is based on contributions plus interest using your 
earnable compensation at the time of injury. You 
may also arrange in advance with your employer 
to continue contributing to your account while you 
are receiving workers’ compensation benefits.

Previously withdrawn SCRS service

If you left employment and received a refund of 
your contributions plus interest from SCRS, you 
may re-establish this service upon returning to 
active membership. You must repay the amount 
you withdrew plus interest to the date your 
request is received. Previously withdrawn earned 
service that is re-established in SCRS is considered 
earned service for the determination of the 
SCRS minimum service requirement for benefit 
eligibility. Please note that earnings associated with 
a re-established withdrawal will be considered for 
possible inclusion in the calculation of a member’s 
average final compensation. A Class Three 
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member who purchases a period of withdrawn 
service for any period of covered employment 
rendered prior to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class 
Two membership.

Non-qualified service

Active Class Two and Class Three members who 
have five or more years of earned service credit 
may establish up to five years of non-qualified 
service by making an actuarially neutral payment 
to PEBA. The cost calculation is based in part on 
your current age and service credit, as well as your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
at the time PEBA receives your service purchase 
request. The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 
independent actuary, will not be less than 35 
percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 
compensation for each year purchased.

State ORP service

Active members may purchase service credit for 
their years of participation in the State ORP by 
making an actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. 
The cost calculation is based in part on your 
current age and service credit, as well as your 
career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 
at the time PEBA receives your service purchase 
request. The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 
independent actuary, will not be less than 
16 percent of your career highest fiscal year 
compensation for each year purchased.

State ORP participation that is established 
in SCRS is considered earned service for the 
determination of the SCRS minimum service 
requirement for benefit eligibility. Please note 
that earnings associated with established State 
ORP participation will be considered for possible 
inclusion in the calculation of a member’s average 
final compensation. A Class Three member who 
purchases a period of State ORP participation 

for any period of covered employment rendered 
prior to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 
membership.

In-service death benefits

Active member incidental death benefit

If, as an active member, you die in service with at 
least one year of service credit and your employer 
provides incidental death benefit coverage, a 
payment equal to your current annual earnable 
compensation will be paid to your designated 
beneficiary. If your death results from a job-related 
injury, the one-year requirement is waived.

Amounts paid to your designated beneficiary are 
subject to ordinary federal and state income taxes. 
It is up to your designated beneficiary to request 
that state taxes be withheld from the payment. 
PEBA is required to withhold federal taxes of 20 
percent on the incidental death benefit payment 
unless your designated beneficiary rolls over the 
money into another qualified retirement plan. 

A designated beneficiary who is a spouse may roll 
over the incidental death benefit payment into an 
IRA, a 401(k) plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) 
plan or some 457 plans.

A non-spousal beneficiary may roll over the 
incidental death benefit payment into an inherited 
or beneficiary IRA only.

Your designated beneficiary should check with an 
accountant or a tax advisor about his tax liability, 
or visit the IRS’s website at www.irs.gov and the 
website for the tax agency in the state in which 
he resides. In South Carolina, visit the South 
Carolina Department of Revenue’s website at 
https://dor.sc.gov.

State agencies, the General Assembly and public 
school districts automatically provide incidental 
death benefit coverage to their employees; 
however, coverage is optional for other employers. 

http://www.irs.gov
https://dor.sc.gov
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If an employer elects to provide incidental death 
benefit coverage for its employees, the employer 
must pay the required contribution rate for the 
coverage.

Retirement account benefits

If you die in service as an active member, your 
designated beneficiary will be entitled to receive 
a refund of your employee contributions plus the 
interest earned on your account regardless of your 
age and years of service credit at the time of your 
death.

Your designated beneficiary will be eligible to 
choose a monthly benefit instead of a refund of 
your employee contributions plus the interest 
earned on your account if: 

•	 You are a Class Two member with at least five 
years of earned service credit and either have 
at least 15 years of total service credit or you 
are at least 60 years of age at the time of your 
death; or

•	 You are a Class Three member with at least 
eight years of earned service credit and either 
have at least 15 years of total service credit or 
you are at least 60 years of age at the time of 
your death.

Disability retirement benefit
A member of SCRS may receive disability 
retirement benefits from SCRS only if the member 
has been approved for disability benefits from 
the federal Social Security Administration, which 
generally requires an incapacity to perform any 
gainful occupation.

Who may apply

Becoming disabled does not automatically qualify 
you for a disability retirement benefit; you must file 
an application and go through the review process. 
You must be in service with an employer covered 

by SCRS in order to file an application for disability 
retirement benefits. A member is considered to be 
in service on the date the application is received by 
PEBA if: 

1.	 The last day the member was employed by a 
covered employer was no more than one year 
before the date PEBA received the application; 
and 

2.	 The member had not been retired on a 
service retirement allowance for more than 
one year at the time PEBA received the 
application. 

If PEBA does not receive your application while you 
are in service, you will not be eligible to receive any 
disability retirement benefits from SCRS. Retired 
members who work for a covered employer are 
not eligible to apply for a disability retirement 
benefit.

In addition to being in service, you must also meet 
certain earned service requirements to apply for 
disability retirement benefits. If you are a Class 
Two member, you must have at least five years 
of earned service credit toward retirement unless 
your disability is the result of an injury arising out 
of and in the course of the performance of your 
job duties. If you are a Class Three member, you 
must have at least eight years of earned service 
credit toward retirement unless your disability 
is the result of an injury arising out of and in the 
course of the performance of your job duties.

Coordination with other benefits 
You may arrange with your employer to make your 
retirement contributions through your employer 
if your disability requires you to be placed in an 
employer-approved leave status while receiving 
workers’ compensation benefits. Doing so will 
ensure that you continue to earn retirement 
service credit during your workers’ compensation 
leave period. Do not wait to apply for a disability 
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benefit until your workers’ compensation claim 
is finalized. Many workers’ compensation claims 
are often settled after covered employment 
has ended. If your disability claim is denied, the 
continuance of paying retirement contributions 
and earning retirement service credit may be 
important to your long-term retirement plans.

You must file your application while you are in 
service with a covered SCRS employer even if you 
have not yet been approved for Social Security 
disability benefits. Because of the length of time 
the Social Security disability application can take, 
do not wait to apply for SCRS disability retirement 
benefits until your Social Security disability claim 
has been approved.

How to apply

You should file your application for disability 
retirement as soon as you become disabled and 
while you are still in service with an employer 
covered by SCRS. Either go to the PEBA website 
at peba.sc.gov or contact the Customer Contact 
Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to obtain 
a disability retirement packet. When you file your 
disability retirement claim, please complete all 
of the forms in the disability retirement packet. 
You do not, however, need to include any medical 
records from your health care providers. If PEBA 
receives your disability retirement application 
more than one year after you terminate from all 
covered employment under SCRS or more than 
one year after the date of your service retirement, 
you will not be eligible to apply for a disability 
retirement benefit. 

The date your application is actually received 
by PEBA is the date used to determine whether 
the application was timely filed. You have to be 
approved for Social Security disability benefits 
in order to receive a disability retirement benefit 
from SCRS.

Acknowledgement of receipt

If you do not receive notification in the mail 
confirming PEBA’s receipt of your application 
within 10 days after submitting it, please contact 
the Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 
or 888.260.9430. If you are eligible for service 
retirement when you become disabled, you 
may apply for a service retirement benefit and 
begin receiving a monthly benefit while awaiting 
determination of your disability claim. You will 
receive only one type of payment, so if your 
disability claim is approved, you will need to 
decide whether to continue to receive your service 
retirement benefit or to begin receiving a disability 
benefit.

Processing the claim

The evaluation of your disability claim depends 
on when you send your Social Security award 
letter to PEBA. Once PEBA receives your Social 
Security award letter, your claim for an SCRS 
disability benefit can be evaluated. Please note 
that you will not be eligible for an SCRS disability 
benefit if the disability onset date established by 
the Social Security Administration is more than 
one year after the date of your termination from 
employment. Please remember that, because your 
SCRS disability retirement application must still be 
filed while you are in service, you should not wait 
to submit your disability retirement application to 
PEBA until your Social Security disability claim has 
been decided.

Effective date of a disability benefit

Once you have provided a copy of the Social 
Security award letter to PEBA, your SCRS disability 
benefit will be effective the later of the disability 
onset date established by the Social Security 
Administration or the day after your termination 
from employment. Retroactive benefits will be paid 

https://peba.sc.gov
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back to the later of these two dates.

The disability retirement benefit will be based 
upon your years of credited service at retirement, 
average final compensation at retirement and the 
current benefit multiplier for service retirement 
benefits. However, the annual benefit may not 
be less than 15 percent of your average final 
compensation.

Continuing disability review

If you have not yet reached age 65, you must 
provide a document indicating your continued 
receipt of Social Security disability benefits to 
PEBA each year. PEBA must receive this annual 
continued receipt document within 30 days after 
the anniversary date of your SCRS disability 
retirement.

Failure to produce documentation of your 
continued receipt of Social Security disability 
benefits within 30 days after the anniversary date 
of your SCRS disability retirement will result in 
suspension of your SCRS disability benefit. Your 
SCRS disability benefit will be reinstated if you 
provide the necessary documentation of your 
continued receipt of Social Security disability 
benefits within one year of the anniversary date of 
your SCRS disability retirement. Failure to produce 
documentation within one year of the anniversary 
date of your SCRS disability retirement will result in 
the permanent termination of your SCRS disability 
benefit. 

Returning to employment while 
receiving a disability retirement benefit

If you are under age 65 and receiving an SCRS 
disability benefit, you should report earnings from 
any gainful (public or private) employment to PEBA 
annually because there is an earnings limitation 
for all employment which is applied on a calendar-
year basis. You may earn the difference between 

your adjusted average final compensation (AFC) 
at retirement and your disability benefit without 
affecting your benefit.

Your AFC may be adjusted each year for inflation 
for earnings limitation purposes only. This increase 
generally matches the percentage of the annual 
increase in the Consumer Price Index for Wage 
Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W). These 
adjustments affect the amount you can earn while 
receiving a disability benefit; however, they do not 
affect the amount of your benefit. You will receive 
a letter each February advising you of how much 
you can earn and requesting confirmation of 
your prior year’s earnings. You will have to repay 
any benefits you received to which you were not 
entitled. If you earn more than the difference 
between your adjusted AFC and your disability 
benefit, your monthly benefit will be reduced 
or possibly canceled. If you return to work with 
an employer covered by one of the retirement 
systems administered by PEBA and your annual 
earnable compensation is equal to or greater than 
your adjusted AFC, your disability benefit ceases 
and you must become an active member of the 
system. After age 65, a disability retiree is subject 
to the same earnings limitation as a service retiree 
(see Page 20).

Additional information 

Because a disability retiree must annually establish 
continued approval for Social Security disability 
benefits in order to continue to receive an SCRS 
disability retirement benefit, any post-retirement 
employment that causes a disability retiree to no 
longer receive Social Security disability benefits will 
also result in the discontinuance of the retiree’s 
SCRS disability retirement benefit. For more 
information about returning to employment while 
receiving Social Security disability benefits, see 
Working While Disabled: How We Can Help, which 
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is available from the Social Security Administration 
at www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10095.pdf.

Leaving before retirement
If you leave your job and terminate all employment 
covered by one or more of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA before you are eligible 
to retire, you have two options concerning your 
contributions:

•	 Request a refund of your employee 
contributions plus the interest earned on your 
account; or

•	 Leave your funds in your SCRS account. 
Your account will continue to accrue interest 
until your account becomes inactive. Your 
SCRS account is considered inactive when 
no contributions have been made to the 
account in the preceding fiscal year and no 
other active, correlated system or State ORP 
account exists. 

Request a refund 

If you have terminated all employment covered 
by one or more of the retirement systems 
administered by PEBA and wish to receive a refund 
of your accumulated employee contributions 
plus the interest earned on your account, you 
must submit a refund request in Member Access 
or complete a Refund Request (Form 4101) and 
return it to PEBA. You may submit your refund 
request immediately upon termination; however, 
by law, your refund cannot be paid sooner than 
90 days after your termination, and may not 
be paid later than six months after the date of 
your request. If you are working for two or more 
covered employers and contributing to more than 
one retirement account (i.e., working two jobs and 
paying into an SCRS and a PORS account), you 
must stop working in all correlated systems to 
request a refund from any account.

If you receive a refund, you forfeit your rights to 
any future service retirement or disability benefit. 
Employer contributions are not refunded. Instead 
of having the refund paid directly to you, you may 
choose to roll over the funds into an IRA, a 401(k) 
plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(a) plan, a 403(b) 
plan or some 457 plans.

PEBA is required to withhold federal taxes of 20 
percent on the taxable portion of any refund that is 
eligible for a rollover but is not transferred directly 
into another qualified retirement plan. If you do 
not take advantage of a rollover as indicated above 
and are under age 59½ at the time of distribution, 
your distribution will not only be subject to regular 
income tax, but you may also be subject to a 10 
percent penalty tax on the taxable portion of your 
distribution when you file your income tax return, 
unless certain exceptions apply.

See Special Tax Rules in IRS Publication 575 and 
IRS Form 5329 for more information on this tax 
penalty and the exceptions to the penalty.

Be sure to check with an accountant or a tax 
advisor about your tax liability, or visit the IRS’s 
website at www.irs.gov and the website for the tax 
agency in the state in which you reside. In South 
Carolina, visit the South Carolina Department of 
Revenue’s website at https://dor.sc.gov.

Leave funds on deposit 

When you leave your money in your SCRS account, 
you retain your years of service credit, which may 
be added to any future service you may accrue 
should you later become employed in a position 
covered by one of the correlated retirement 
systems administered by PEBA. Your account 
will continue to earn interest until it becomes 
inactive. An account is considered inactive when 
no contributions have been made to the account 
in the preceding fiscal year and no other active, 
correlated system or State ORP account exists. 

http://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10095.pdf
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web4101.xdp
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p575.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f5329.pdf
http://www.irs.gov
https://dor.sc.gov
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You may apply for a refund at a later date or apply 
for a service retirement benefit upon reaching 
eligibility. No action is required if you wish to retain 
your membership and leave your funds on deposit, 
but it is your responsibility to keep PEBA informed 
of your current address as well as any name or 
beneficiary changes. You can make certain updates 
to your account information through Member 
Access (see Page 5 for more information).

Service retirement
A good way to begin the planning process for 
retirement is to attend a one-day preretirement 
seminar offered by PEBA. Sessions are held 
regionally in the fall. The seminar schedule and 
registration information can be found online 
at peba.sc.gov/events. If you are considering 
retirement, you may obtain a consultation by 
telephone or in person at our office. Simply contact 
the Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 
888.260.9430 or visit our office. Visitors are seen 
on a first-come, first-served basis.

When to apply

You must file an application with PEBA to retire; 
it is not automatic. You may file your application 
as early as six months prior to your desired 
effective date of retirement but no later than 90 
days afterward. We encourage you to file your 
application as early as possible. You can apply for 
retirement through your Member Access account. 
Retirement applications and other forms are also 
available at peba.sc.gov/forms, or you may contact 
the Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 
888.260.9430 to request these forms.

If you do not receive notification of PEBA’s 
receipt of your application within 10 days after 
submitting it, contact the Customer Contact Center 
at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430. Please do not 
terminate employment until PEBA has verified 

your service credit and you receive written notice 
of your retirement eligibility from PEBA. This 
notice will be sent to you in the mail and is entitled, 
Notification of Retirement Eligibility and Estimated 
Benefit. Benefit estimates may be obtained through 
Member Access or from PEBA, are projected 
based on information you provide and information 
in PEBA’s records. Benefit estimates are subject to 
change upon review of your account after PEBA 
receives your retirement application.

Eligibility

If you meet the following requirements, you 
are considered eligible to retire (see Correlated 
systems on Page 4 if you have an account in more 
than one retirement system).

Normal retirement (unreduced benefit)

Class Two members
•	 At least 28 years of service credit on the date 

of retirement, five years of which must be 
earned service credit; or

•	 Age 65 or older on the date of retirement with 
five years of earned service credit.

Class Three members
•	 Meet the Rule of 90 requirement with at least 

eight years of earned service credit. This 
means that your age and years of service 
credit must add up to 90. For example, a 
member who is 56 years old and has at least 
34 years of service credit, eight years of which 
must be earned service credit, would be 
eligible for normal retirement; or

•	 Age 65 or older on the date of retirement with 
eight years of earned service credit.

Early retirement (reduced benefit)

Class Two members
•	 Age 60 with at least five years of earned 

service credit. Your benefit is permanently 

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome

https://peba.sc.gov/events
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome

https://peba.sc.gov/forms
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
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reduced 5 percent for each year of age less 
than 65; or

•	 Age 55 or older with 25 years of service credit, 
five years of which must be earned service 
credit. Your benefit is permanently reduced 
4 percent for each year of service credit less 
than 28. Benefit adjustment restrictions apply 
(see Page 19).

Class Three members
•	 Age 60 with at least eight years of earned 

service credit. Your benefit is permanently 
reduced 5 percent for each year of age less 
than 65.

Retiree health insurance eligibility

The eligibility requirements for a service benefit 
and for retiree health insurance are not the 
same. If you are covered by the state’s health 
insurance program, be sure to read the eligibility 
requirements in the Insurance Benefits Guide 
or contact the Customer Contact Center at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for eligibility 
information. If your employer does not participate 
in the state’s employee health insurance program, 
contact your employer for information about 
insurance in retirement.

Average final compensation

Your average final compensation, commonly 
referred to as AFC, is an important part of the 
formula used to calculate your retirement benefit. 

If you are a Class Two member, your AFC is the 
12 highest consecutive quarters  of earnable 
compensation in which you made regular member 
contributions and were earning service credit. An 
amount up to and including 45 days’ termination 
pay for unused annual leave at retirement may 
be included in your AFC calculation. For an 
elected official, AFC may be calculated as the 
average annual earnable compensation for the 36 

consecutive months before the expiration of the 
elected official’s term of office. 

If you are a Class Three member, your AFC is the 
20 highest consecutive quarters2 of earnable 
compensation in which you made regular member 
contributions and were earning service credit. 
Termination pay for unused annual leave at 
retirement is not included in the AFC calculation.

Estimated benefit 

One of PEBA’s goals is to start your benefit 
payment as soon as possible so that you are not 
without income once you terminate employment. 
To make this possible, your initial benefit payment 
does not include any credit for unused sick or 
annual leave, if applicable, nor does it include your 
final earnable compensation information. Until all 
of this information is received from your employer, 
you will receive an estimated benefit.

If you are a Class Two member, after your 
employer submits your final earnable 
compensation information, which is in the form of 
quarterly retirement contributions, PEBA will audit 
the retirement contributions for your 12 highest 
consecutive quarters of earnable compensation. 
For work performed after December 31, 2012, 
your AFC does not include any overtime pay not 
mandated by your employer. Your AFC may be 
adjusted after the audit if any of the contributions 
included in the AFC calculation were for any 
payments not considered a part of your regular 
earnable compensation base. Your AFC will also be 
adjusted according to statute to include payment 
for your unused annual leave (see Unused leave at 
retirement on Page 15). Your service credit will also 
be adjusted to include credit for up to 90 days of 
unused sick leave. 

2A quarter means a period January through March, April 
through June, July through September or October through 
December.

https://peba.sc.gov/publications
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If you are a Class Three member, you will have 
retirement contributions for your 20 highest 
consecutive quarters of earnable compensation 
audited. Your earnable compensation does not 
include any overtime pay not mandated by your 
employer. You will not receive service credit for 
unused sick leave at retirement, nor will payment 
at retirement for your unused annual leave be 
included in the calculation of your AFC.

As a result of the information received from your 
employer and the audit of the contributions for 
your highest consecutive quarters of earnable 
compensation, your retirement benefit will be 
finalized. The final amount may be less than, or 
more than, your estimated benefit.

Service retirement benefit calculations 

Class Two members

The four-step formula below is used to calculate 
your Class Two monthly benefit based on the 
Option A maximum payment plan described on 
Page 16.

Step 1 Total your 12 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation 
and allowable annual leave payout and 
divide by 3.3 This equals your AFC.

Step 2 Multiply the result of Step 1 by 1.82% 
(0.0182).

Step 3 Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 
months and days of service.4

Step 4 Divide the result of Step 3 by 12.

3The dollar amount of payment for up to 45 days of unused 
annual leave paid by a Class Two member’s last employer at 
retirement may be included before averaging the member’s 12 
highest consecutive quarters of earnable compensation.
4Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to 
determine a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 
25 years, 2 months and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 
plus 10). 70 divided by 360 equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 
years of service.

Class Two example

For a Class Two member with 28 years of service 
credit and an AFC of $30,000:

Step 1
$30,000

×    0.0182
$546

Step 2
$546

× 28 years
$15,288

Step 3
$15,288

÷ 12 months
$1,274

The Option A  
monthly benefit  

is $1,274.

Unused leave at retirement
Annual leave
Only an amount up to and including 45 days’ 
pay for unused annual leave from a Class 
Two member’s last termination payment will 
be included before averaging the member’s 
12 highest consecutive quarters of earnable 
compensation (see Step 1 of the benefit formula). 

Sick leave
At retirement, a Class Two member may receive 
service credit for up to 90 days of unused sick 
leave from the member’s last employer at no cost 
to the member (see Step 3 of the benefit formula). 
This service credit cannot be used to establish 
retirement eligibility. Sick leave is reported by a 
Class Two member’s employer after retirement. 
One month of service credit is granted for each 20 
days of sick leave.

School district and higher education employees
Adjustments may be required so that you receive 
credit for three full years of earnings. Such 
adjustments may include changes in payroll cycles, 
contract payouts and any other occurrence that 
could potentially cause the AFC to include more or 
less than three full years of earnings.
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Class Three members

The four-step formula below is used to calculate 
your Class Three monthly benefit based on the 
Option A maximum payment plan described on 
Page 16.

Step 1 Total your 20 highest consecutive 
quarters of earnable compensation and 
divide by 5. This equals your AFC.

Step 2 Multiply the result of Step 1 by 1.82% 
(0.0182).

Step 3 Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 
months and days of service.5

Step 4 Divide the result of Step 3 by 12.

Class Three example

For a Class Three member who is age 60 with 30 
years of service credit (satisfying the Rule of 90) 
and an AFC of $30,000:

Step 1
$30,000

×    0.0182
$546

Step 2
$546

× 30 years
$16,380

Step 3
$16,380

÷ 12 months
$1,365

The Option A  
monthly benefit  

is $1,365.

5Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to 
determine a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 
25 years, 2 months and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 
plus 10). 70 divided by 360 equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 
years of service.

Unused leave at retirement
Class Three members will not receive service credit 
for any unused sick leave at retirement and any 
pay you receive at termination for unused annual 
leave will not be included in the calculation of your 
average final compensation.

Payment options at retirement
There are three monthly benefit payment options 
available to you at retirement. Select the option 
that best suits your needs. Generally, your 
payment option may not be changed once your 
benefit is first payable.

Option A

Maximum retiree only monthly benefit
This option provides the maximum monthly 
benefit available and will pay you a lifetime benefit 
based on your average final compensation, years 
of service and a multiplier (0.0182). After your 
death, PEBA will return, through a lump-sum 
payment to your beneficiary or your estate, the 
remaining balance of any member contributions 
and interest, including any working retiree 
contributions, not exhausted through receipt of 
your benefit during your retirement.

Option B

100%-100% joint retiree-survivor monthly 
benefit
You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 
benefit for life. After your death, the same benefit 
(100 percent of your reduced monthly benefit, 
including granted benefit adjustments) will 
continue throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. 
If all of your designated beneficiaries predecease 
you, your benefit will revert to Option A, including 
any benefit adjustments granted since your 
retirement date.

You may select Option B only if your designated 
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beneficiary is your spouse, or you designate 
multiple beneficiaries or a sole beneficiary who is 
not your spouse and who is within the 10-year age 
difference limits allowed by an Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) formula. The non-spousal limits do 
not apply if the non-spousal beneficiary is older 
than you, or in the case of disability retirement or 
death benefits. If, based on the IRC formula, the 
adjusted age difference for you and a non-spousal 
beneficiary exceeds the IRC limits, Option B would 
not be available to you. You would be able to select 
Option C, however, with no IRC restrictions.

Option C

100%-50% joint retiree-survivor monthly 
benefit
You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 
benefit for life. After your death, one-half of the 
benefit (50 percent of your reduced monthly 
benefit, including granted benefit adjustments) will 
continue throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. 
If all of your designated beneficiaries predecease 
you, your benefit will revert to Option A, including 
any benefit adjustments granted since your 
retirement date.

Choosing Option B or Option C

If you choose Option B or Option C and name 
multiple beneficiaries, after your death your 
benefit will be divided equally among those 
beneficiaries. The benefit will not change for the 
remaining beneficiaries if one beneficiary dies, 
either before or after the member dies.

If you select Option B or Option C and all of your 
designated beneficiaries predecease you, your 
benefit will revert to Option A effective in the 
month following the month the last beneficiary 
died. You must notify PEBA upon the death of a 
beneficiary.  



South Carolina Retirement System Member Handbook18

Approximate amount of Option A monthly benefit at retirement

The information in the table below is based on Option A. Choosing Option B or Option C to provide a future 
benefit for beneficiaries will reduce the amount of your monthly benefit. Early retirement reductions may 
also apply; see Page 13 for more details.

AFC Years of service

Additional 
monthly 

benefit for 
each additional 

year
5 10 15 20 25 28 30 35 40

$20,000 $152 $303 $445 $607 $758 $849 $910 $1,062 $1,213 $30

$25,000 $190 $379 $569 $758 $948 $1,062 $1,138 $1,327 $1,517 $38

$30,000 $228 $455 $683 $910 $1,138 $1,274 $1,365 $1,593 $1,820 $46

$35,000 $265 $531 $796 $1,062 $1,327 $1,486 $1,593 $1,858 $2,123 $53

$40,000 $303 $607 $910 $1,213 $1,517 $1,699 $1,820 $2,123 $2,427 $61

$45,000 $341 $683 $1,024 $1,365 $1,706 $1,911 $2,048 $2,389 $2,730 $68

$50,000 $379 $758 $1,138 $1,517 $1,896 $2,123 $2,275 $2,654 $3,033 $76

$55,000 $417 $834 $1,251 $1,668 $2,085 $2,336 $2,503 $2,920 $3,337 $83

$60,000 $455 $910 $1,365 $1,820 $2,275 $2,548 $2,730 $3,185 $3,640 $91

$65,000 $493 $986 $1,479 $1,972 $2,465 $2,760 $2,958 $3,450 $3,943 $99

$70,000 $531 $1,062 $1,593 $2,123 $2,654 $2,973 $3,185 $3,716 $4,247 $106

$75,000 $569 $1,138 $1,706 $2,275 $2,844 $3,185 $3,413 $3,981 $4,550 $114

$80,000 $607 $1,213 $1,820 $2,427 $3,033 $3,397 $3,640 $4,247 $4,853 $121

$85,000 $645 $1,289 $1,934 $2,578 $3,223 $3,610 $3,868 $4,512 $5,157 $129

$90,000 $683 $1,365 $2,024 $2,730 $3,413 $3,822 $4,095 $4,778 $5,460 $137

$95,000 $720 $1,441 $2,161 $2,882 $3,602 $4,034 $4,323 $5,043 $5,763 $144

$100,000 $758 $1,517 $2,275 $3,033 $3,792 $4,247 $4,550 $5,308 $6,067 $152

$110,000 $834 $1,668 $2,503 $3,337 $4,171 $4,671 $5,005 $5,839 $6,673 $167
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Post-retirement information

Monthly benefit payments

Monthly benefit payments are directly deposited 
into your bank account on the last business 
day of each month. Electronic distribution of 
monthly benefit payments reduces risks and 
transaction costs for both benefit recipients and 
the retirement plan. You may add or change your 
direct deposit information any time by logging in 
to Member Access or completing a Direct Deposit 
Authorization (Form 7204). 

Taxes

The taxable portion of your monthly benefit and 
any death benefit payments to your beneficiary are 
subject to federal and state income taxes. Since 
tax laws are complex and constantly changing, be 
sure to check with an accountant or a tax advisor 
about your tax liability, or visit the IRS’s website at 
www.irs.gov and the website for the tax agency 
in the state in which you reside. In South Carolina, 
visit the South Carolina Department of Revenue’s 
website at https://dor.sc.gov. 

Additional information for disability retirees
Disability applications received by PEBA prior 
to January 1, 2014
If you are an SCRS member who applied for 
disability retirement and whose application was 
received by PEBA prior to January 1, 2014, and 
you are receiving a disability benefit, the disability 
benefits paid to you by PEBA are reported annually 
on IRS Form 1099-R as normal distributions for 
income tax purposes. This is in accordance with 
IRS guidelines, which also direct usage of various 
codes to reflect the taxability of a payment, or 
distribution, for income tax purposes. PEBA is 
required to use a code 7 in box 7 of your Form 
1099-R rather than a code 3 because the disability 
program for applications received by PEBA prior 

to January 1, 2014, is an occupational or job-
related disability program rather than a total and 
permanent disability program as described in 
section 72(m)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code. A 
code 7 in box 7 of your Form 1099-R means that 
you are not subject to the 10 percent tax penalty 
for early withdrawal because you receive your 
retirement benefits through a monthly benefit; 
however, these benefits should be included as 
ordinary income for tax purposes.

Although the Form 1099-R you receive from PEBA 
correctly contains a code 7 in box 7, you may 
also receive monthly benefits from the Social 
Security Administration and be considered totally 
and permanently disabled for Social Security 
purposes. If you are considered totally and 
permanently disabled for Social Security purposes, 
you may qualify for the Credit for the Elderly or 
the Disabled. Please refer to Schedule R when 
completing your tax return. You must keep for 
your records a copy of your physician’s statement, 
which certifies that you were permanently and 
totally disabled on the date that you retired.

Disability applications received by PEBA after 
December 31, 2013
For SCRS disability benefits paid to a member 
who applied for disability retirement and whose 
application was received by PEBA after December 
31, 2013, PEBA will report your disability benefits 
annually to the IRS on Form 1099-R using a code 
3 because disability retirees must be entitled to 
and receiving benefits from the Social Security 
Administration. This means disability retirees are 
considered totally and permanently disabled for 
Social Security and PEBA purposes.

Benefit adjustments

Per current state law, effective each July 1, eligible 
SCRS retirees are to receive an annual benefit 
adjustment of 1 percent of their annual benefit up 

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web7204.xdp
https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web7204.xdp
http://www.irs.gov
https://dor.sc.gov
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040sr.pdf
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to a maximum of $500 per year. The increase will 
be reflected in benefit payments issued on the last 
business day of July since benefits are payable the 
last business day of the month.

The earliest you can receive a benefit adjustment 
is the second July 1 after your date of retirement. 
Class Two members who retire under the early 
retirement provisions at age 55 with 25 years of 
service are not eligible for benefit adjustments 
until the earlier of the second July 1 after they 
reach age 60 or the second July 1 after the date 
they would have had 28 years of service credit had 
they not retired.

Non-working retired member 
incidental death benefit

As a non-working retiree, if you die and your last 
employer prior to retirement provides incidental 
death benefit coverage (see Page 8), a payment 
based on your service credit will be paid to your 
beneficiaries as follows:

Years of  
service credit

Incidental death 
benefit payment

10 to 19 years $2,000

20 to 27 years $4,000

28 or more years $6,000

Amounts paid to your beneficiary are considered 
taxable benefits; therefore, federal taxes will be 
withheld unless your beneficiary rolls over the 
money into another qualified retirement plan. It is 
up to your beneficiary to request that state taxes 
be withheld from the payment.

Returning to covered employment

To retire, you must first have a complete, bona 
fide severance or termination of employment. 
After 30 days of retirement, you may be hired by 
an employer covered by one of the retirement 
systems administered by PEBA. If you return to 

covered employment sooner than 30 consecutive 
calendar days after retirement, your monthly 
benefit will be suspended while you remain 
employed by a covered employer. 

Earnings limitation

From covered employment: service retiree
If you retire before you reach age 62 and return 
to covered employment, you will be subject 
to a $10,000 per year earnings limitation. This 
means you can earn up to $10,000 per year from 
covered employment and continue to receive 
your retirement benefit. If you continue covered 
employment after earning more than $10,000 in a 
calendar year, your monthly retirement benefit will 
be suspended for the remainder of that year. The 
$10,000 earnings limitation applies regardless of 
your age when you return to covered employment. 
For example, if you retire at age 58 with 30 years of 
service and return to covered employment when 
you are 63 years old, you would still be subject to 
the $10,000 earnings limitation since you retired 
before you reached age 62. 

The $10,000 earnings limitation from covered 
employment does not apply to members who 
retired prior to January 2, 2013, or members who 
retire after age 62. In addition, the limitation 
does not apply to compensation for service as 
an elected official, service as an appointee of the 
Governor with confirmation by the South Carolina 
Senate or service by appointment or election by 
the General Assembly.

Critical needs teachers’ exemption
Under certain circumstances, a retired member 
may return to covered employment without 
affecting his monthly retirement benefit if he is 
a certified teacher and is employed by a school 
district to teach in the classroom in his area of 
certification. The $10,000 earnings limitation does 
not apply if the State Department of Education 
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determines that no qualified, non-retired member 
is available for employment in the position, and 
that a certified teacher is teaching in a critical 
academic need area or a geographic need area 
as defined by the State Board of Education, or 
that a retired certified school teacher or certified 
employee is employed in a school or school 
district that has received a below average or 
unsatisfactory academic performance rating 
pursuant to the Education Accountability Act. 
After approval is received from the Department of 
Education, school districts must notify PEBA of the 
member’s exemption from the earnings limitation.

From all employment: disability retiree
Please see the Returning to employment while 
receiving a disability retirement benefit section on 
Page 9 for information about the calendar year 
earnings limitation for disability retirees.

Employment status

Any retired member who is employed by an 
agency that adheres to state personnel policies 
will be exempt from the State Employee Grievance 
Procedure Act. This means your employment is 
at will. If, as a retired member, you return to work 
for an employer that is not governed by state 
personnel policies, you would be subject to your 
employer’s policies regarding employment status 
and rights. 

Working 48 continuous months

If you return to employment and work 48 
continuous months for a covered employer with 
an annual earnable compensation of at least 75 
percent of the AFC used to calculate your monthly 
benefit, you may elect to cease your monthly 
benefit and become an active member of SCRS 
(or PORS, if applicable). If you become an active 
member again, you have the option to repay some 
or all retirement benefits to receive additional 

service credit for that period of time. When you 
subsequently retire, your monthly benefit will be 
calculated as if you were retiring for the first time. 
Participation in the former TERI program does 
not count toward the 48-month period. If you 
begin this process for the purpose of establishing 
eligibility for retiree health insurance, please 
contact PEBA for assistance.

Working retired member incidental 
death benefit

If you are a working retired member and your 
employer participates in incidental death benefit 
coverage, a payment equal to your current annual 
earnable compensation will be paid to your 
beneficiary if you die while in service. Amounts 
paid to your beneficiary are considered taxable 
benefits; therefore, federal taxes will be withheld 
unless your beneficiary rolls over the money into 
another qualified retirement plan. It is up to your 
beneficiary to request that state taxes be withheld 
from the payment.

Working retired member contribution 
rate

If you return to work for a covered employer 
after you retire, you will contribute the same tax-
deferred percentage of your gross pay into your 
SCRS retirement account as an active member. 
The member contribution rate is 9 percent. As a 
working retiree, you will not earn additional service 
credit or receive interest on your account. 
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Beneficiary and payment option 
changes

Retired member incidental death benefit
You may change your beneficiary for the incidental 
death benefit at any time regardless of the 
payment option you selected.

Option A
You may change your beneficiary for retirement 
benefits at any time. If you have a change in 
marital status (death of spouse, marriage, divorce), 
you may also select a new payment option within 
five years of the qualifying event.

Option B and Option C
If all of your beneficiaries predecease you, your 
monthly benefit will revert to Option A effective in 
the month following the month the last beneficiary 
died. You must notify PEBA upon the death of 
a beneficiary. You may then designate a new 
beneficiary under Option A.

If you have a change in marital status (death of 
spouse, marriage, divorce), you may also select 
a new payment option and designate a new 
beneficiary within five years of the qualifying event.

Payment option change limitation
Your form of monthly payment may not be 
changed more than twice regardless of the 
number of events (death of a designated 
beneficiary or change in marital status) that occur. 
A reversion to Option A after the death of your 
beneficiary will count as one of the two changes. 
If a second beneficiary predeceases you after you 
have again selected Option B or Option C, you 
will revert automatically to Option A; however, no 
further form of payment changes will be allowed. 
Changes in form of payment occurring before 
January 1, 2001, are not included in the limitation 
provision.

More information
Be sure to visit PEBA’s website at peba.sc.gov 
for additional information, resources and tools. 
You can also estimate your retirement benefit in 
Member Access.

PEBA uses various social media platforms to 
communicate with employers, members, the 
media and other stakeholders. We invite you to 
take advantage of these communications tools by 
liking us on Facebook and following us on Twitter, 
Instagram and YouTube. We encourage you to join 
the conversation.

You may also contact PEBA at 803.737.6800, 
888.260.9430 or peba.sc.gov/contact.

Tell us what you think
Let us know how we’re 
doing, and what you think 
about this publication. Take 
a few minutes to complete a 
short survey.

www.surveymonkey.com/r/publicationsfeedback

https://peba.sc.gov
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://www.facebook.com/scpeba
https://twitter.com/scpeba
https://www.instagram.com/s.c.peba/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClSf6F6cIG0mmFjRJx7x5gQ
https://peba.sc.gov/contact
http://www.surveymonkey.com/r/publicationsfeedback
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This document does not constitute a comprehensive or binding representation regarding the employee benefits offered by the South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA). The terms and 
conditions of the retirement benefit plans offered by PEBA are set out in the applicable statutes and are subject to change. Please contact PEBA for the most current information. The language used in this 
document does not create any contractual rights or entitlements for any person.
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