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This document does not constitute a comprehensive or binding representation regarding the employee benefits offered by the South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA). The terms and 
conditions of the retirement benefit plans offered by PEBA are set out in the applicable statutes and are subject to change. Please contact PEBA for the most current information. The language used in this 
document does not create any contractual rights or entitlements for any person.

Refer to the Select Your Retirement Plan Guide, found 
at peba.sc.gov, for detailed information and when 
making retirement plan decisions.

Benefits

•	 Your retirement benefit consists of your 
account balance at retirement, made up of 
contributions made by you and your employer 
throughout your years of employment, as well 
as any investment gains or losses on those 
contributions. It is not based on a set formula, 
and you assume all investment and longevity 
risk.

•	 You select one of four service providers, 
contracted by PEBA, to administer your State 
Optional Retirement Program (State ORP) 
account. You choose the provider that best suits 
your needs.

•	 You have immediate rights to your entire 
account balance, including employee and 
employer contributions, when you separate 
from all covered employment or reach age 59½.

•	 Unlike the South Carolina Retirement System 
(SCRS), which serves as an alternative to the 
State ORP, there is no disability protection.

•	 An active member incidental death benefit is 
available through PEBA.

Eligibility and enrollment

•	 Active membership requires you to be 
employed by and receiving compensation from 
an employer that participates in the State ORP.

•	 Initial enrollment, including service provider 
selection, must take place within 30 days of 
your initial hire.

•	 PEBA will provide your selected service 
provider with basic enrollment information; 
however, you will need to provide direction 
on how you want your contributions invested 
and designate a beneficiary for your State 
ORP account balance. The current providers 
are AIG Retirement Services (formerly VALIC), 
MassMutual, MetLife Resources and TIAA. Learn 
more and find contact information at 
peba.sc.gov/state-orp.

•	 During State ORP annual open enrollment, 
which occurs from January 1 to March 1, you 
can choose to change service providers.

•	 You may also elect to irrevocably switch to SCRS 
during annual open enrollment if it has been 
at least one year, but not more than five years, 
since your initial enrollment in the State ORP.

Contributions

•	 You contribute a tax-deferred 9 percent of gross 
pay, while your employer contributes 5 percent 
of your gross pay to your chosen service 
provider.

•	 Your employer remits the contributions directly 
to your selected service provider.

•	 By law, the employee contribution rate and the 
total employer contribution rate are equal to 
the rates for SCRS.

https://peba.sc.gov/sites/default/files/select_guide.pdf
https://peba.sc.gov
https://peba.sc.gov/state-orp


Cost of participation

•	 Service providers charge an administrative fee 
to cover the cost of administering your State 
ORP account. That fee, also called an asset-
based fee, differs among service providers.

•	 Administrative fees are charged directly to your 
State ORP account on a quarterly or monthly 
basis, depending on the provider.

•	 Investment options have annual fees, often 
called expense ratios, that go toward the 
operating costs of the fund. The expense ratio 
directly reduces the fund’s investment return, 
which impacts the value of your investment. 
Investment expense ratios are disclosed in the 
fund’s prospectus.

Incidental death benefit

•	 If you die in service after one year of 
participation, your incidental death beneficiary 
is eligible for a payment equal to one year’s 
gross salary.

•	 If death is a result of a job-related injury, the 
one-year requirement is waived.

•	 No incidental death benefit is payable if you 
die after you are no longer in service, although 
your beneficiary, as designated with your 
service provider, would be eligible to receive the 
balance of your State ORP account.

Distribution options

•	 You have multiple payment options, including 
lump sum and periodic withdrawals.

•	 Although you are eligible to take a distribution 
when you leave covered employment before 
age 59½, you may be subject to a penalty tax in 
addition to regular income tax unless you roll 
over the funds into an eligible retirement plan. 
There are some exceptions to the penalty tax. 
Consult a tax advisor for more information.

•	 You can access all the funds in your account 
—employee and employer contributions—

at age 59½. You can do this even if you are 
actively working and contributing to the plan. 
Although the distribution will not be subject to 
the penalty tax, it will be a taxable distribution 
unless the funds are rolled over into an eligible 
retirement plan.

•	 You may leave your balance in your account 
until you choose to take withdrawals or until 
the IRS requires you to take annual minimum 
distributions. Keep in mind that while you are 
actively employed by an employer participating 
in the plan, you are not obligated to take a 
required minimum distribution.

Retiree insurance eligibility

•	 For State ORP participants, insurance eligibility 
is determined as if you were a member of SCRS.

•	 Only PEBA can make retiree insurance eligibility 
determinations. Contact PEBA before making 
final arrangements for retirement.

•	 The amount you pay in retiree insurance 
premiums is based on several factors, including 
your years of service, when you were hired and 
the type of employer from which you retire.

•	 Please refer to the Retiree Insurance Eligibility, 
Funding for members who work for a state 
agency, state institution of higher education or 
public school district flyer for more information.

Learn more

•	 Contact your human resources office.

•	 Go to peba.sc.gov or contact PEBA by phone at 
803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430.

•	 Visit PEBA, with or without an appointment, at 
202 Arbor Lake Drive, Columbia, SC 29223.

https://peba.sc.gov/sites/default/files/retiree_insurance_state.pdf
https://peba.sc.gov/sites/default/files/retiree_insurance_state.pdf
https://peba.sc.gov/sites/default/files/retiree_insurance_state.pdf
https://peba.sc.gov/sites/default/files/retiree_insurance_state.pdf
https://peba.sc.gov

